Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Top Kiwi groms headed to Primary School Champs

Sonny Rapira-Martin (Waitara) © Col/Surf2Surf




National Primary School Championships

Surfing New Zealand
Fitzroy Beach, New Zealand
16 November 2013

Sonny Ripira-Martin & Elin Tawharu will lead the way at Fitzroy Beach

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 14 November, 2013 - Fitzroy Beach, New Plymouth will play host to the next crop of young groms out to impress this Saturday when the 2013 Primary School Championships returns for the second year running.  The entry-level surfing event caters for boys and girls enrolled in Year 8 and below at school.

This year’s event sees over 40 young surfers from all over the country converge on New Plymouth to surf at the event.  Surf and weather conditions look set to come to the party as well with fine weather, light winds and a small swell forecast - perfect for the young surfers.

Leading the way at the event will be Waitara surfer Sonny Rapira-Martin in the Boys Division and Elin Tawharu (Mnt) in the Girls Division.

Rapira-Martin made the top eight at the event in 2012 and will be looking to improve on that result, this being the last time he gets to contest the Primary School Champs before moving up to the next age bracket.

Rapira-Martin will be challenged by a raft of top young surfers who have contested events around the country this year.  A strong contingent of Mount Maunganui surfers includes James Ririnui, William Barnes, William Van De Beek and Lockie O’Connor.  This year also sees groups of surfers attending from Raglan, Auckland, Waiheke Island, Auckland and Gisborne.

Local surfers to join Rapira-Martin include Tom Butland, Kava Matthews, Felix Ferris and the Bond brothers Jason and Simon to name a few.

Elin Tawharu heads up an equally impressive group of young female surfers from Mount Maunganui including last year’s champion Kea Smith, Tiana Breeze de Mooij and Iritana Butler.  In 2012 Mount Maunganui surfers filled all four finals spots in the Girls Division.

Zhana Hutchieson will lead the way for the local girls along with Ariana Shewry and Kahana Ngaia.

The event is the first step on the development pathway for surfers as they work their way up through additional age group divisions and on to the open ranks.

The early beginnings of many New Zealand representatives and national champions have started with this event.  These include the country’s newest star Ella Williams (WGM) who won the ASP World Junior Championships earlier this month.  Williams won the Primary School Champs in 2006 and 2007. 

Also names such as Johnny Hicks, Grace Spiers, Alexis Poulter, Ben Poulter, Dune Kennings, Korbin Hutchings, Sean Kettle and Kehu Butler all started at this event and went on to represent New Zealand.

The event offers a tonne of fun for both boys and girls in classes Year 8 and below to get out there with other surfers throughout New Zealand.

The event is being hosted by Surfing Taranaki with the support of Beach Street Surf Shop and Sticky Johnson.  The event will take place at Fitzroy Beach from 8:00am Saturday.

Honours Board

2004 – Tyler Anderson (Tara)
2005 – Johnny Hicks (Gis)
2006 – Tane Wallis (Piha)
2007 – Tane Wallis (Piha)
2008 – Sean Kettle (Tara)
2009 – Korbin Hutchings (Gis)
2010 – Korbin Hutchings (Gis)
2011 – Kehu Butler (Mnt)
2012 – Kehu Butler (Mnt)

2004 – Grace Spiers (WGM)
2005 – Grace Spiers (WGM)
2006 – Ella Williams (WGM)
2007 – Ella Williams (WGM)
2008 – Gabriela Sansom (Auck)
2009 – Milly Crewe (Mur)
2010 – Dayna Story (Gis)
2011 – Kea Smith (Mnt)
2012 – Kea Smith (Mnt)

Ben Kennings

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter