Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Who's In? Padang Padang tube contest names invitees

Rip Curl team rider Mason Ho (HAW) has been invited to compete at the 2017 Rip Curl Cup Padang Padang. Credit: © WSL /  Lawrence
Mason Ho © WSL/Lawrence




Rip Curl Cup Padang Padang

World Surf League Specialty Event
Padang Padang, Bali Indonesia
10 July - 10 August 2017

Clay Marzo, Bruce Irons, Tom Curren and Mason Ho to show up

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 28 June, 2017 - Rip Curl and WSL has officially announced the 16 surfers invited to compete in the Rip Curl Cup 2017, to be held on the best day of waves at Padang Padang between July 10 and August 10.

Among the world’s best surfers preparing to push the limits of tuberiding in pursuit of the prestigious title are: 3x World Champion Tom Curren (USA), North Shore charger Mason Ho (HAW) and former WCT superstar and style icon Bruce Irons (HAW).

Among the surfing luminaries representing Indonesia are defending Rip Curl Cup Champion Mega Semadhi, Indonesian surfing ambassador Rizal Tandjung and two-time Indonesian Champion Lee Wilson. Going by the numbers, there’s no question 2017’s lineup of invited surfers is one of the most potent ever assembled: a 3x World Champion, five WCT event Champions and four Indonesian National Champions are among the all-star lineup of surfers vying for the 2017 Rip Curl Cup at Padang Padang.

In addition to Curren, Ho and Irons, goofyfoot barrel mercenaries Damien Hobgood (USA) and Clay Marzo (HAW) will also be making their return to the Rip Curl Cup, hoping to better their finals appearances from last year and claim The Cup. Meanwhile, reigning Rip Curl Cup Champion and pride of Balinese surfing Mega Semadhi said he’s looking forward to a rematch with the big names, no matter how it plays out.

“Padang Padang is one of the best waves in Indonesia,” Semadhi said. “It’s the perfect spot to share with some of the best tube riders in the world. When you get that combination of wave quality and talent for one special day, everyone is always going to leave stoked no matter where they end up finishing.”

Following is the complete surfer lineup for the 2017 Rip Curl Cup:

International Surfers:
1. Tom Curren (USA)
2. Mason Ho (HAW)
3. Damien Hobgood (USA)
4. Bruce Irons (HAW)
5. Kai Otton (AUS)
6. Bruno Santos (BRA)
7. Clay Marzo (HAW)
8. Jack Robinson (AUS)
9. Jacob Willcox (AUS)
10. Ryan Burch (USA)

Note: Only eight international surfers will receive a spot in the event. Entry granted on first-come, best-dressed basis.

Indonesian Surfers:
1. Bol Adi Putra
2. Raditya Rondi
3. Mega Semadhi
4. Rizal Tandjung
5. Pepen Hendrik
6. Garut Widiarta
7. Lee Wilson
8. TBD (winner of local trials)

The final remaining invitation will go to the winner of the local trials, to be held at Padang on the best day of surf conditions from July 1 – 7.

Tim Hain

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter