Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Women's Surf Challenge lights up Durban & Cape Town

Tanika Hoffman © Claire Butler



Women's Surf Challenge

Surfing South Africa
Long Beach, Kommetjie, South Africa
10 November, 2013

Baum & Hoffman snag wins in the Women's Surf Challenge

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 12 November, 2013 - The 2013 Women’s Surf Challenge took place in smallish surf and cloudy conditions at Dairy Beach in Durban and in perfect three to four foot offshore surf on a perfect summer day at Long Beach, Kommetjie yesterday (Sunday November 10). Over 40 girls turned out to participate in these events exclusively for women surfers presented by Surfing South Africa and supported by Sport and Recreation South Africa.

Top international campaigner Sarah Baum (Athlone Park) dominated in Durban winning both the Open division and the Under 20 title while Tanika Hoffman (Hout Bay) underlined why she is a member of the South African team with a stylish Open division win in great conditions at Long Beach in Kommetjie.

Baum won R3100 in cash and prizes while Hoffmann earned R2100 in the 1A rated Surfing South Africa Pro Surf tour events.

Legendary South African surfer Heather Clark (Port Shepstone) was the runner up in the Open Division at Dairy Beach with Kat Steffen (Westville) taking third ahead of Heidi Palmboom (Bluff).

Tarryn Chudleigh (Kommetjie) finished second in the Open Final at Long Beach, Tasha Mentasti (Cape Town) was third and Port Elizabeth visitor Faye Zoetmulder, Hoffman’s team mate in the National Team, came fourth.

In the Under 20 final in Durban Teal Hogg (Umhlanga) came second to Baum with Palmboom securing third place and Chanelle Botha (Warner Beach) taking fourth spot.

2013 SA Junior team member Anoush Zakarian (Melkbosstrand) swept to victory in both the Under 20 and Under 16 Divisions at Long Beach while Chanelle Botha (Warner Beach), Zakarian’s team mate at the World Junior Championships earlier this year, took honours in the Under 16 Division in Durban.

Cara Stubbs (Marina da Gama) came second in the Under 20 Division at Long Beach, Ruth Armstrong (Scarborough) came third and Pippa Jones (Marina da Gama) was fourth. Armstrong, the current Under 15 SA Champion, was runner up in the Under 16 final with Stubbs taking third spot ahead of Kiah Bettison (Kommetjie).

In the Under 16 final in Durban, Botha edged out current Under 17 SA Champion Teal Hogg (Umhlanga) with Olivia Brand (Umdloti) third and Jade Mets (Umhlanga) fourth.

The Women’s Pro events were supported by Sport & Recreation SA. Surfing South Africa is the governing body for the sport and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA).


Robin de Kock

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter