Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Yallingup wins inaugural Australian Boardriders Battle

Team Yallingup © Surfing WA/Woolacott



Be The Influence Boardriders Battle

Surfing Australia
Trigg Point, Perth, Australia
17 November, 2013

Taj Burrow posts perfect 10 & takes Yallingup to the podium

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 18 November, 2013 - The Be The Influence Australian Boardriders Battle West Australian qualifying event kicked off in small but highly contestable waves at Trigg Beach today with an impressive list of surfers representing their clubs in the hopes of making the final of the biggest boardriders club event in Australian history.

The new and unique event format saw teams of seven from the state’s top boardriders clubs compete in skins, pairs and teams divisions in what was a full day of surfing with strong club spirit displayed on the packed metropolitan beaches.

The day commenced with the man-on-man skins divisions, which saw clubs best surfers going head to head in an epic MVP match up.

Local Trigg Point Boardrider Luke Campbell set the standard for the day posting a nine (out of a possible ten) in an impressive display of surfing. Going head to head with some of WA’s best surfers including ISA World U16 Junior Champion Jacob Willcox (Margaret River) and Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) world ranked number five Taj Burrow (Yallingup).

Burrow’s experience in man-on-man heats proved hard to beat, posting the days’ two highest individual scores that included a perfect ten-point ride and. His silky skills and effortless manoeuvres confirmed he’s one of the best in the world, making the most of the conditions on offer and handing his Yallingup club an all important early lead.

“I love surfing waves likes this to be honest.” Said Burrow. “Whilst I haven’t had o do it in a coloured vest for a while, it’s really great to be part of today and a great club like Yallingup.”

The pairs division final saw the new generation of surfing talent represent their clubs, with all of them eager to get their 15 wave maximum and post the best scores possible, sending the judges into a frenzy.

Margaret River’s Bronte Macaulay (ASP Women’s World #33) and Josh Burke (Pro Junior State Champion) put up a fight and both surfing exceptionally, however it was Yallingup’s Kael Walsh (U14 National Champion) and Mikeala Green (ASP Women’s World #40) who combined perfectly. The pair showed great strength in the small shifty waves proving too good and securing an important close win for Yallingup.

The pinnacle of the day was without a doubt the tag team final, which showed the depth of these premiere WA boardriding clubs. Featuring both male and female surfers, an U/18 junior and an O/35 master the hour long heat had it all, with heated paddle battles and some impressive surfing going down.

The deciding round saw Yallingup again prove dominant with surfers Taj Burrow, Mikaela Green, Kael Walsh, Chris Davey and Sam Tucker taking out the win for Yallingup along with a trip to the National Final and $2000 cash.

Yallingup team captain Paul ‘Antman’ Paterson said the team was rapt with the win and the new event format.

“We were very lucky with the conditions today, the waves were very surfable and it was quite good for this time of year.

“It was great to have Taj Burrow back, he made all the difference and I think he’ll step it up another notch when he comes up against the big dogs like Parko in the National Final,” he said.

In close second was Margaret River with Jacob Willcox, Dave and Bronte Macaulay, Matt Baldock and Jerome Forrest close at the heels of Yallingup the whole time.  Margaret River also earned the oppruntity to represent WA at the National Final and took home a solid $1,500 cash.

“We’ve got so many talented surfers so are stoked to go over and be able to show what we’ve got,” said Team Manager Andrew Sheridan.

“We might even have Yadin [Nicol] and Creed [McTaggart] back by then to make our team even more solid.”

Trigg Point Boardriders, despite a solid performance from Luke Campell, Mitch Taylor, Denver Young, Kerry Whitford and Mick Jardine missed out on a spot in the National Final but were stoked to be taking home $800 for their efforts.

Teams now look towards the Be The Influence Australian Boardriders Battle Final taking place in Cronulla, NSW over the Australia Day long weekend in January, featuring the top 16 clubs in Australia battling it out for over $100k prize money.

The Be the Influence Australian Boardriders Battle also includes a Monster Raffle giveaway with one lucky ticket holder to drive away in a new Toyota RAV4. Other prizes include a Billabong pack valued at more than $1500 and a Nikon 1 AW1 camera valued at up to $1000. The Monster Raffle is open to all Surfing Australia affiliated boardrider clubs with proceeds returning to the boardriders club community.

Final West Australian Results:

1st - Yallingup Boardriders - 4600 points. $2,000.
2nd - Margaret River Boardriders - 3720 points. $1,500.
3rd - Trigg Point Boardriders - 3510 points. $800.

The Be The Influence Australian Boardriders Battle Schedule:

 South Australia
October 12, 2013
 Victor Harbor

New South Wales 
Northern Region 
October 26-27, 2013 

November 2-3, 2013
 Gold Coast

 Western Australia
 November 17, 2013 Trigg Point, Perth

December 14, 2013
 Phillip Island

December 21, 2013
 East Coast

 New South Wales
Southern Region
January 11-12, 2014

: January 25-26, 2014
 Cronulla, New South Wales

The Editors

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter