Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Teahupoo tops 2013 for 'worst wipeouts'

Alain Riou : Framegrab from Tropically Yours



Award Updates

Surfer Poll opens voting for the year's worst wipeout

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 11 November, 2013 - For the first time ever, Surfer Poll's wipeout of the year category will be opened up for public vote. They've narrowed down the worst wipeouts that appeared in films over the last year, and now it’s up to the public to decide which one will take home the award. Of the entries, three are at Teahupo'o, two at Jaws and one at Mullaghmore Ireland.

The voting will be live for one week only, so go to now through Nov. 18 to vote. The award, a crowd favorite (though likely athletes’ least favorite), will be presented on Dec. 6, 2013 at the 2013 SURFER Poll at Turtle Bay Resort and broadcast live via beginning at 7 p.m. HST (9 p.m. PST, 12 a.m. EST).

Awards will also be presented for the Top 10 Men and Top 5 Women, as well as the best films and performances of the year, including categories such as Best Barrel, Breakthrough Performer, Best Short and Movie of the Year.


Dawn Hamilton

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter