ISA President named Waterman of the Year

Bob McKnight, Fernando Aguerre & Paul Naude © ISA/Shawn Parkin

ISA Updates

Aguerre joins the greats as Waterman of the Year | español

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 12 August, 2013 : - - On Saturday night, surfing leader and ISA President Fernando Aguerre received one of the biggest honors in surfing when he was given the Waterman of the Year award, at the annual Surf Industry Manufacturers Association (SIMA) Waterman's Ball held at the Ritz-Carlton in Laguna Niguel, California.

Considered the de-facto Academy Awards for the surfing industry, the Waterman's Ball raised awareness and funds for environmental causes, and also recognized leaders who have committed themselves to the progression of the sport of surfing, with Fernando being the main honoree.

The Waterman of the Year Award is one of the most prestigious awards to receive in the surfing industry. Most of the past recipients have been former professional and world champion surfers.

Fernando's name will now be etched in history books alongside the likes of Kelly Slater, Laird Hamilton, Andy Irons, Rob Machado, wetsuit inventor Jack O'Neill, Endless Summer Filmmaker Bruce Brown, and legendary watermen and women including Rell Sunn, Greg Noll, Gerry Lopez, and Hobie Alter.

“Surfing, and my love for the waves and the oceans are the spinal cord of my life. I will continue to always work for the underdog, the ones in need, with my heart as compass and my passion as fuel. Surfing has been a great bridge builder to unite peoples of diverse races, religions, languages and socio economical backgrounds,” said Aguerre. 

He added, “While it’s great to receive this award, my biggest award will continue to be, being able to touch the hearts of other people and help them fulfill their dreams. And that we can all do it every day in our lives. I try to do it every day. So can you. Giving is the nicest and most fulfilling part of living.”

Fernando received his award alongside Grammy-nominated musicians and surfers Brandon Boyd and Incubus as Environmentalists of the Year; former professional surfer and World Champion, Peter “PT” Townend, who was awarded the 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award.

Waves for Water founder Jon Rose, also received a Special Achievement Award for his ongoing environmental and disaster relief work, specifically with Hurricane Sandy recovery efforts.

At the ceremony, Fernando accepted his award wearing one of his signature outfits, a flower print suit and bowtie. The full room of attendees gave him a standing ovation.

“It was truly an amazing night,” said Aguerre. “I’m humbled by this recognition, which only strengthens my commitment to the road ahead as an ambassador of our culture, in this road of true aloha. Muchas gracias.”

Source: ISA

Author: The Editors

Tags: Fernando Aguerre, Waterman of the Year, SIMA

ISA: Surfersvillage

  • ASL Mag
  • Curl
  • Huck
  • Natural
  • PitPilot
  • Revolt
  • Surfos
  • Vibras
  • 3Sesenta
  • 18 Seconds
  • Billabong
  • Hurley
  • Nike
  • O'Neill
  • Quiksilver
  • Rip Curl
  • Swatch
  • Vans Surf
  • Volcom
  • Von Zipper
  • BiC
  • Channel Islands
  • DC Shoes
  • FCS
  • Firewire
  • Lost
  • Moskava
  • Oxbow
  • Pukas
  • Roxy
  • ASP World Tour
  • Int'l Surfing Association
  • ALAS (LatÝn Pro Tour)
  • APS Puerto Rico
  • ASF (Atlantic USA)
  • Waves Brazil
  • Olas Peru
  • Surfing (Italia)
  • Surf Total (Port)
  • (NZ)
  • Atoll
  • Baleal
  • Bali
  • Chile
  • Cantabria
  • Freistil
  • Peniche
  • Surfinn
  • Urban
  • Wavetours