Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



10 new Australian champs crowned at Coffs Harbour

Tony Rae © Smith/SNSW




2016 Australian Surf Festival

Surfing Australia
Coffs Harbour, Australia
29 July - 15 August 2016

Tony Rae wins the Over-45 men's logger division

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 10 August, 2016 - Ten new Australian Champions were crowned today following a series of hotly contested finals in challenging waves at Diggers Beach for the final day of the NRMA Holiday Parks Australian Longboard Titles.
Josh Constable (Peregian, Qld) continued to amaze the judges and spectators over the course of the Over-35 Mens final, posting consecutive scores in the excellent range. Constable didn’t let the tiny waves faze him as he bashed out a multitude of giant hooks and snaps to post a 16.40 two-wave heat total (out of a possible 20 points) and claim the coveted trophy.
Kate Dwyer (Caloundra, Qld) added another title to Queensland's haul, claiming the Over-35 Womens division. Dwyer shone in the final, posting an impressive 15.00 heat total to take a convincing win ahead of Vivenne Cresswell (Collaroy, NSW) who took the runner-up position.
Greg Brown (Jan Juc, Vic) showed that age wasn’t going to slow him down, claiming his fourth Over-50 Mens Australian Longboard Title in as many years. Brown performed like a surfer decades younger, posting a heat total of 15.50 for an array of critical turns. Local surfer Charlie O’Sullivan (Woolgoolga, NSW) put on a valiant effort, posting 12.00, but was unable to knock Brown from the top-spot.
Alan Atkins (Byron Bay, NSW) put on a buzzer-beater effort to claim the Over-65 Mens final. With less than a minute remaining in the heat, multiple Australian Champion Neville Smith (Coolangatta, Qld) looked destined to claim the trophy, however, Atkins was able to scratch into a playful righthander that was rewarded with a 7.00 wave score and as a result was gifted the title.
Damian Coulter (Mountain Creek, Qld) posted a series of excellent wave scores in excess of 7.50 to make his presence known in the Over-40 Loggers final. Coulter’s scores allowed him to stop Greg Brown from claiming his second title of the event, thus pushing the Victorian into the runner-up spot.
Harley Ingleby (Emerald Beach, NSW) claimed his second Australian Title for 2016, taking out the Open Loggers final. Ingleby showed the same tack-sharp precision that won him the recent Open Mens final posting a near-perfect 9.00 wave score, which allowed him to keep his opposition at arms length over the duration of the heat. Runner-up Ben Considine (Barwon Heads, Vic) remained within striking distance of the win, but was unable to muster up the required 7.66 wave score needed to take the title.
The Australian Surf Festival will commence each day at 7:30am with the call for the days schedule and location confirmed via the event hotline at 6:45am. The event hotline number is 0458 247 212 which will leave a voice recorded message each morning of the event.

Australian Surf Festival – Coffs Harbour, NSW - July 29 - 15 August, 2016
- Opening Ceremony – July 29
- Australian Surfmasters Titles – July 30 - August 3
- NRMA Holiday Parks Australian Longboard Titles – August 3 - 11
- Australian Logger Titles – August 8 - 11
- Australian Bodyboard Titles – August 11 – 15

Open Loggers
1 – Harley Ingleby (Emerald Beach, NSW)
2 – Ben Considine (Barwon Heads, Vic)
3 – Will Cousins (Torquay, Vic)
4 – Jack Medland (Marmion, WA)

Over-35 Men
1 – Josh Constable (Peregian, Qld)
2 – Scott Trew (Mullaloo, WA)
3 – John Schmidenberg (Emerald Beach, NSW)
4 – Rob Smith (Caringbah, NSW)

Over-35 Women
1 – Kate Dwyer (Caloundra, Qld)
2 – Vivienne Cresswell (Collaroy, NSW)
3 – Amanda O’Connor (Cronulla, NSW)
4 – Catherine Griffen (Goolwa, SA)

Over-40 Men
1 – Nigel Canterbury (Mermaid Beach, Qld)
2 – John Schmidenberg (Emerald Beach, NSW)
3 – Craig Davies (Peregian, Qld)
4 – Michael Paxton  (Dodges Ferry, Tas)

Over-40 Mens Loggers
1 – Damian Coulter (Mountain Creek, Qld)
2 – Greg Brown (Jan Juc, Vic)
3 – Craig Davies (Peregian, Qld)
4 – Neil Thompson (Scarborough, WA)

Over-45 Men
1 – Tony Rae (Hastings Point, NSW)
2 – Charlie O’Sullivan (Woolgoolga, NSW)
3 – Jason Livingston (Curl Curl, NSW)
4 – John Murray (Sawtell, NSW)

Over-50 Men
1 – Greg Brown (Jan Juc, Vic)
2 – Charlie O’Sullivan (Woolgoolga, NSW)
3 – John Fraser (Rushcutters Bay, NSW)
4 – Jason Russel (Port Noarlunga South, SA)

Over-55 Men
1 – John Lane (Torquay, Vic)
2 – John Skinner (Warilla, NSW)
3 – Paul Guthrie (Arrawarra, NSW)
4 – Brian Kuit (Torquay, Vic)

Over-60 Men
1 – Phil Roxburgh (Cowra, NSW)
2 – John Ayton (Torquay, Vic)
3 – Chris Fullstrom (Scamander, Tas)
4 – George Watts (Bonny Hills, NSW)

Over-65 Men
1 – Alan Atkins (Byron Bay, NSW)
2 – Neville Smith (Coolangatta, Qld)
3 – John Amos (Seaford, SA)
4 – Tony Harrison (Albany, WA)

NRMA Nose Ride Of The Day Champions
Day 1 – Declan Wyton (Annandale, NSW)
Day 2 – Aidan Feely (Moffat Beach, Qld)
Day 3 – Jye Whyatt (Torquay, Vic)
Day 4 – Harley Ingleby (Emerald Beach, NSW)
Day 5 – Jason Livingston (Curl Curl, NSW)
Day 6 – Tony Harrison (Albany, WA)
Day 7 – Kate Dwyer (Caloundra, Qld)

2016 Australian Surf Festival, Surfing Australia, Coffs Harbour, Longboard, Contest
Ethan Smith

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter