Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



100 juniors battle it out at Margaret River

Margaret River © Surfing WA/Woolacott



West Australia Junior Surfing Titles
presented by SunSmart

Surfing Western Australia
Margaret River, Australia
28 - 29 March 2015

West Australia's best juniors greeted by big, burly surf for season opener

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 30 March, 2015 - Margaret River, Australia - Large and powerful surf highlighted a thrilling opening event of the WA Junior Surfing Titles presented by SunSmart, at Margaret River. For the first time since 1986, Surfers Point played host to a Western Australian Junior State Title event, with the iconic location bringing out the best from WA's new generation of surfing superstars.
Close to 100 male and female competitors aged between 10 and 17 years of age, tackled a building swell that peaked in the 6-8 feet range this afternoon.

The natural amphitheatre at Surfers Point saw a strong crowd of supporters and spectators build prior to the finals action commencing.
"This weekend has provided our junior surfers with an invaluable experience to compete at a world class location," said Surfing WA Events Manager Justin Majeks. "It's been a great opportunity for the kids to surf the same patch of reef as the world's best surfers soon will for the upcoming Drug Aware Margaret River Pro." 

It was local South-West surfers that adapted best to the size and power of the waves on offer, winning six out of the seven divisions contested. 

Jed Mattinson (Margaret River) proved a popular winner in the blue ribbon Under-18 Junior Boys division. Mattinson's superior wave selection and powerful rail-to-rail surfing impressed the judges and spectators alike. Catching just two waves during the 25 minute final, Mattinson opened with a 6.67 and back it up with a 7.17 to finish on a combined total of 13.8 (from a possible 20). 

Despite the best efforts of his opponents Mattinson was too strong, leaving Pascal Hutchinson (Sorrento) in second, Lachy Ross (Denmark) in third and Josh Cattlin (Yallingup) in fourth.

"It's been such a sick weekend with such amazing waves," said Mattinson. "It's great that we can have competition here at Surfers Point with some much support behind me here, I'm wrapped with the result."

Denver Young (Cottesloe) was the only non-local winner this weekend, bucking the trend to take out the Under-18 Junior Girls division. Despite some nerves and apprehension, Young was clinical in her approach scoring a heat high 6.57 (from a possible 10) to defeat Bailee Hastie (Gracetown), Emi Campbell (Denmark) and Phoebe McGregor (Yallingup) in the 25 minute final.

Young credited her performance to her coaches and support of her friends in the water saying, "I don't get to surf waves this big on the metro beaches very often, so to do it with my best friends in the water with me is a really great feeling."

Josh Cattlin (Yallingup) surfed with a maturity beyond his years to win the Under-16 Cadet Boys division. Cattlin put in a iron-man like effort today, surfing seven times to reach two divisional finals. Cattlin displayed textbook surfing on the right-handers at Surfers Point, going top to bottom at every opportunity. 

Josh Caitlin © Surfing WA/Woolacott

Cattlin was too strong for Jolan Bonelli (Margaret River), Fletcher Llanwarne (Duncraig) and Cyrus Cox (Margaret River), who finished second, third and fourth respectively.

"It's been a big day for me, but to come away with a win in the 16's makes it all worth it." Cattlin said.

Not to be out done by the boys, the Under-16 Cadet Girl's divisions also provided many highlights. Parading the depth of female talent now on offer in WA, Jamaica Selby (Margaret River) April McPherson (Mandurah), Evie Dupuy (Albany) and Emma Cattlin (Yallingup) went head-to-head in the 25 minute showdown.

It was Selby who was able to execute the best turns on the bigger set waves to snatch the win by less than two points from McPherson, with Dupuy in third and Cattlin in fourth.

"It's my first year in the 16's age group so to win in my first event is a really good feeling." said Selby
Finn Cox (Margaret River) won the Under-14 Grommet Boys division by displaying great courage and tackling some of the biggest waves and sections of the weekend. Cox scored a heat high 8.33 (from a possible 10) to edge out a determined and hungry group of young surfers including; Ry Dempsey (Margaret River) in second, Jed Gradisen (Margaret River) in third, and Giam Nation (Trigg) in fourth.

In other results from the weekend, an impressive backhand attack from Emma Cattlin (Yallingup) saw her capture the Under-14 Grommet Girls division. While George Simpson (Gracetown) edge out some of his closest surfing buddies to win in the Under-12 Micro Groms division.

“We’ve got some really impressive talent emerging at an incredible rate here in WA,” said Surfing WA commentator and high performance coach Mark Clift.  "In my era we never had access to the equipment, locations, coaching or support the kids do now, so It's good to see them making the most of their opportunities."

Forming a key part of the WA surfing development pathway, the 2015 Junior Surfing Titles will see the states best young surfers seeking qualification to the National Junior Surfing Titles which will take place in North Stradbroke Island, QLD later this year.

After a memorable start, all attention now turns to the second event of the series which will head north to the Perth metropolitan beaches on the 6th and 7th of June. Trigg Beach will play host to WA's best juniors, where the journey towards crowing the 2015 WA Junior Surfing Champions will continue. 

Stay tuned to for all news, information and updates relating to the WA Junior Surfing Titles presented by SunSmart.


1. Jed Mattinson (Margaret River) 13.80pts, 2. Pascal Hutchinson (Sorrento) 13.10pts 3. Lachy Ross (Denmark) 9.34pts. 4. Josh Cattlin (Yallingup) 6.50pts.
1. Denver Young (Cottesloe) 11.74pts, 2. Bailee Hastie (Gracetown) 11.66pts, 3. Emi Campbell (Denmark) 8.33pts, 4. Phoebe McGregor (Yallingup) 6.13pts.
1. Josh Cattlin (Yallingup) 13.67pts, 2. Jolan Bonelli (Margaret River) 10.87pts, 3. Fletcher Llanwarne (Duncraig) 8.60pts, 4. Cyrus Cox (Margaret River) 7.43pts.

1. Jamaica Selby (Margaret River) 13.70pts, 2. April McPherson (Mandurah) 11.67pts, 3. Evie Dupuy (Albany) 10.23pts, 4. Emma Cattlin (Yallingup) 7.43pts.

1. Finn Cox (Margaret River) 15.66pts, 2. Ry Dempsey (Margaret River) 13.10pts, 3. Jed Gradisen (Margaret River) 10.86pts, 4. Giam Nation (Trigg) 7.50pts.

1. Emma Cattlin (Yallingup) 16.50pts, 2. Pemba Spargo (Albany) 9.43pts, 3. Holly Minter (Albany) 8.20pts, 4. Lucinda Jones (Margaret River) 0.00pts.

1. George Simpson (Gracetown) 10.83pts, 2. Solomon Pogue-Englert (Gracetown) 9.10pts, 3. Jay Robinson (Dunsborough) 7.64pts, 4. Daniel Bendetti (Margaret River) 3.20pts.

Justin Majeks

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter