Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



17-year-old local posts perfect 10 at Rangiroa Open Pro




Rangiroa Open Pro

WSL QS1000 Men's Event
Hawaii/Tahiti Nui WSL Region
8 - 11 March 2016

Mauiki Raioha's 10-point barrel had everyone's attention

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 10 March, 2016 - Avatoru, Rangiroa, Tahiti - Mauiki Raioha kicked off the competition with the best disappearing act of the event, a benchmark barrel that set the standard for Day 2 of the Rangiroa Open Pro.

The 17-year-old secured the first 10-point ride of the event on his opening wave in the first heat of the afternoon, breaking the wave lull that kept the competition from running until 2pm.

A deep take-off put the Papenoo local in perfect positioning to drive through multiple sections and narrowly escape the curtain of water for a clean exit. Competitors Shane Sykes (ZAF), Elijah Gates (HAW) and Gatien Delahaye (GLP) attempted to catch Raioha, but he backed up his perfect score with a 7.95 for a combined heat total of 17.95, the highest of the event so far.

“A 10 is nice, I hope to make it into the Final,” said Raioha in a post heat interview. “It’s fun today, there’s a couple good waves but you have to be on them and you have to make the scores.”

Close behind Raioha’s 17.95 was O’Neill Massin’s (PYF) 17.75, which ultimately edged out Shane Holmes (AUS) and Dege O’Connell (HAW). The Tahitian has had an impressive performance so far and secured the second highest score of the day, an excellent 9.50. Hawaii’s Eala Stewart will continue his campaign into Round 3 as well.

Mihimana Braye (PYF), defending champion from last year’s Rangiroa Pro Junior, got busy in his heat against Hira Teriinatoofa (PYF), Tinirau Taramu (PYF) and Cody Canzoneri (USA) and posted two mid-range scores -- a 4.65 and 5.90 to stay in the running. Braye, 20, is considered Tahiti’s newest threat and saw second place success earlier this year at the SEAT Pro Netanya in Israel.

In an all-Hawaiian heat, Makai McNamara (HAW) showed calm confidence as he tallied two high scores -- an 8.25 and 7.25 -- to advance in first. Finn McGill (HAW) was patient and caught only two waves, but scored enough points to propel into the next round. Both surfers are standouts on the North Shore of Oahu, which is considered the proving grounds of the sport. McNamara recently placed third in the Volcom Pipe Pro, a WSL QS 3,000 event that kicked off the 2016 Hawaii/Tahiti Nui season.

After taking the morning to asses conditions, contest organizers called the QS1,000 event on in building NW swell with set waves in the 8-10 foot range. Tomorrow the team will reconvene at 7am to determine if the contest will resume. Here’s a look at the two remaining matchups of Round 2:

Heat 15:
Steven Pierson (PYF)
Taumata Puhetini (PYF)
Danny Fuller (HAW)
Braiden Maither (AUS)

Heat 16:
Kekoa Cazimero (HAW)
Max Longhurst (AUS)
Vehiatua Prunier (PYF)
Taaroa Sanford (PYF)

Results - Surfers shown in order of 1st through 3rd.

Round of 64 – 1st and 2nd advance, 3rd = 33rd place, 4th = 49th place

H1: Dimitri Ouvre (BLM), Jason Shibata (HAW), Tereva David (PYF), Mateia Hiquily (PYF)

H2: Matthew McGillivray (ZAF), Slade Prestwich (ZAF), Teiki Charles (PYF), Ludo Horoi (PYF)

H3: Hank Gaskell (HAW), Heifara Tahutini (PYF), Landon McNamara (HAW), Kelson Lau (HAW)

H4: Teoro Tahutini (PYF), Kaimana Jaquias (HAW), Joaquin Del Castillo (PER), Kona Oliveira (HAW)

H5: Eli Olson (HAW), Keoni Yan (HAW), Chris Foster (HAW), William Peckett (PYF)

H6: Turo Enrique Ariitu (PYF), Luke Shepardson (HAW), Dylan Goodale (HAW), Logan Bediamol (HAW)

H7: Billy Kemper (HAW), Kai Mana Henry (HAW), Ruarii Atani (PYF), Alex Pendleton (HAW)

H8: Mauiki Raioha (PYF), Shane Skyes (ZAF), Elijah Gates (HAW), Gatien Delahaye (GLP)

H9: Mihimana Braye (PYF), Hira Teriinatoofa (PYF), Tinirau Taramu (PYF), Cody Canzoneri (USA)

H10: O’Neill Massin (PYF), Eala Stewart (HAW), Shane Holmes (AUS), Dege O’Connell (HAW)

H11: Makai McNamara (HAW), Finn McGill (HAW), Lance Gruver (HAW), Ulualoha Napeahi (HAW)

H12: Ariihoe Tefaafana (PYF), Nainoa Surratt (HAW), Benji Brand (HAW), Jud Lau (HAW)

H13: Kaito Kino (HAW), Cody Young (HAW), Ariimoana David (PYF), Nate Dorman (USA)

H14: Diego Mignot (FRA), Hihimahana Leboucher (PYF), Imaikalani deVault (HAW), Warren Peckett (PFY)


Round of 80 – 1st and 2nd advance, 3rd = 65th place

H1: Dimitri Ouvre (BLM), Ludo Horoi (PYF), Moana Domenech (PYF)

H2: Heifara Tahutini (PYF), Teoro Tahutini (PYF), Mike Voirin (PYF)

H3: William Peckett (PYF), Logan Bediamol (HAW), Pono Auld (HAW) - NS

H4: Ruarii Atani (PYF), Mauiki Raioha (PYF), Noah Hill (USA)

H5: Tinirau Taramu (PYF), Shane Holmes (AUS), Heimoananui David (PYF), Keanu Moux (PYF) - INJ

H6: Lance Gruver (HAW), Nainoa Surratt (HAW), Christopher Bluthardt (HAW) - NS

H7: Ariimoana David (PYF), Warren Peckett (PYF), Koa Rothman (HAW) - NS

H8: Braiden Maither (AUS), Taaroa Sanford (PYF), Jean Pierre Quiroz (PER)

Lauren Rolland

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter