Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



75 surfers from 32 countries awarded ISA scholarships

Ntando Msibi © ISA/Gonzalez




ISA Updates

ISA awards scholarships to promising surfers across the globe


Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 4 December, 2014 - The International Surfing Association [ISA] has awarded 75 Surfers aged 7 – 18 from 32 countries around the world the prestigious ISA Individual Scholarship. The scholarship recipients will receive funds to go towards further education, travel to Surfing competitions, competition fees and Surfing equipment.

The ISA Individual Scholarship Programme aims to provide financial support to young Surfers, many of whom are from developing countries and demonstrate financial need, to allow them to pursue their Surfing career while encouraging them to continue in further education.

The scholarships are granted to individuals who strive to succeed in both Surfing and education and are selected based on their interest in Surfing, their commitment to education and their family’s financial situation. Once granted a Scholarship the recipients become ISA Ambassadors that represent the core values of the sport and act as positive role models for other young Surfers in their communities.

The programme was established in 2007 by current ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, and has now awarded 267 Individual Scholarships worth a total of USD $228,500 to budding Surfers from over 40 countries. Previous recipients have come from a range of different socio-economic backgrounds with some of them going on to become national and world champions.

Speaking about the 2014 ISA Individual Scholarship awards, ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, said: “The ISA Individual Scholarship Programme is a key initiative for the ISA and one that underpins our mission of developing Surfing globally. Surfing is an inclusive sport and it is a special honour for the ISA to be able to help young Surfers fulfil their dreams, especially those who may not be able to fund their ambitions themselves.

“The scholarship programme is continually growing and I’m delighted that since 2007 we have helped 267 young Surfers from over 40 countries to pursue their love of the sport while also remaining in full time education. This is an initiative that embodies the ISA’s core values of solidarity, respect and fair play and one that brings to life the true identity of Surfing.

Some examples of how the ISA Individual Scholarship has had a positive effect on the lives of young Surfers can be seen here:

Juninho Urcia – Peru

Many former ISA Individual Scholarship recipients have become national and world champion Surfers, including Peru’s Juninho Urcia, who received his first ISA scholarship when he was 11. Urcia eventually became Peru’s youngest ever Open Men’s National Champion in 2011 and was also part of the Gold Medal Peruvian Team at the 2011 ISA World Junior Surfing Championship, an event at which he also earned an individual Bronze Medal. Today, Urcia is a professional surfer competing on the ASP World Qualifying Series.

Jyothi M. Bangera – India

For a young girl who has only been surfing since January 2012, Surfing to Jyothi is more than just a hobby – it is a path towards a bright future for herself and her family. Jyothi’s ambition is to represent her country as a professional Surfer and help promote the sport amongst women throughout the India.

Ntando Msibi – South Africa

2013 ISA Scholarship recipient from Durban, South Africa, Ntando Msibi used his scholarship award to purchase a Surfboard and travel to national surfing competitions. Ntando qualified for the South Africa Junior Team that competed at the 2014 VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in Ecuador. The South African, who lost both of his parents at a young age and grew up on the streets of Durban, recently said that representing Team South Africa at the biggest junior surfing competition in the world was a lifelong dream of his.

List of 2014 ISA Individual Scholarship recipients:

Belabbes-nabi Amine - Algeria
Sebbih Abdelhak – Algeria
Oughideni Mohamed - Alegeria
Bianca Schipani - Argentina
Kauê Germano - Brazil
Vinícius Leme Parra – Brazil
Amaya Merino - Chile
Diego Elias Cabezas Vidal - Chile
Josefina Vidueira - Chile
Santiago Nakogui Barro - Colombia
Juan José Vélez Vargas - Colombia
Jawer Hurtado - Colombia
Edgardo Herazo - Colombia
LiaRoan Reyes – Costa Rica
Esteban Chaves Morua - Costa Rica
Axel Castro Bolivar - Costa Rica
Braulio Brito – Dominican Republic
Daniel Felipe Flores Oliveros – Ecuador
Santiago Joel Bowen Alcívar - Ecuador
Esnaider Alfredo Parrales Zambrano - Ecuador
Colbert Villanueva Stanley – Spain
Timoci Tomeru –  Fiji
Narvi Rokete - Fiji
Fatou Ndong – Guam
Momodou Lamin Saine - Guam
Kebba Sarr - Guam
Lilly von Treuenfels – Germany
Emmanuel Ansah – Ghana
Emmanuel Koomson - Ghana
Anthony Rabbi Hemans - Ghana
José Franklin Marroquín Oquelí – Guatemala
Lester Alexis Hernandez - Guatemala
José Manuel Orozco Lopez - Guatemala
Iyan Herdiyanto – India
Sabina Chinantya Anzaltha – India
Vijin Fernandas – Indonesia
Kivins Pushpalilly Jerof - Indonesia
Sakunthala Hanumanthapa - Indonesia
Shatwain Wright – Jamaica
NIck Robinson - Jamaica
Vinaykrishan Dansinghani - Jamaica
Sneha Nair - Jamaica
Yuki Nakashio – Japan
Esther Teah – Liberia
Out Commey – Liberia
Morris M. Gross - Liberia
Irene Armstrong - Liberia
Ayshan Mohamed – Maldives
Mariyam Lam-ath Ibrahim - Maldives
Jose Manuel Lopez Gonzalez – Mexico
Joshua Estrada – Mexico
Valeria Peconi – Mexico
Luis Rey Hernandez Contreras – Mexico
Sören Kintscher – Namibia
Nikolai Hof – Namibia
Omololu Emmanuel Smith – Nigeria
Seun Williams Blessing - Nigeria
David Adeyemi - Nigeria
Aimee Brown – New Zealand
Lourdes Gabriela Elizondo – Panama
Jose Luis Rodriguez Navarro – Panama
Gonzalo Nicolas Torres Ramos – Peru
Walter Jose Blas Rodriguez – Peru
Ntando Msibi – South Africa
Joshe Faulkner – South Africa
Paci Irumva – South Africa
Jaro Conradie-Phiri – South Africa
Daniel Lewis – Trinidad and Tobago
Elton John - Trinidad and Tobago
Jyiell Lewis - Trinidad and Tobago
Erkan Yilmaz – Turkey
Delfina Morosini – Uruguay
Tanner Ford – USA
Leandro Arteaga – Venezuela
Oswald Moreno – Venezuela

Carlos Escaba

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter