Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



All-star lineup raring to go at the NSW Jim Beam Surftag


Chris Davidson : photo Surftag

Jim Beam Surftag

Surfing New South Wales
North Narrabeen, NSW
24 - 26 North Narrabeen

All-star lineup raring to go for the NSW Jim Beam Surftag

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 14 January, 2009 : - - Manly, NSW -- Pride and passion are at stake as the best surfers in the state prepare to do battle at the NSW Jim Beam Surftag. Playing upon the passion and tribal nature of surfing, the NSW Jim Beam Surftag sees Boardrider clubs from around the state looking to be the best, something not available at the run of the mill surfing contest.

With up to 40 teams jam packed with professional surfing stars from all corners of the state, the action is sure to be electric as local pride is put to the test at North Narrabeen from 24 -26 January. This year up to ten ASP World Tour surfers will be competing for their local boardriding club, where the top eight teams will gain qualification to the Jim Beam Surftag National Final.

The likes of Phil McDonald (Ulladulla), Dayyan Neve and Kai Otton (North Steyne), Tom Whittaker (Bronte), Chris Davidson (North Narrabeen), Luke Steadman (Avalon), Drew Courtney (Umina), Adrian Buchan (Avoca), Ben Dunn and Mick Campbell (Saltwater - Taree) will take to the water, as beach rivalries are put to the test.

Steve Harrison, Global Surftag Managing Director, is excited about the level of surfing that will be on show. "This event will be the biggest Jim Beam Surftag in the Series’ eight year history,” he said. “To have up to 10 ASP World Tour surfers competing for their club really show the importance of the Series,” Harrison added.

“The level of surfing in the first event at QLD was amazing and I expect the NSW event to through the roof.”

Unlike conventional surfing contests that play upon individual results, the Jim Beam Surftag National Series is a teams based concept drawing upon the performances of five surfers per team – as opposed to one.

Add bonus points and a collective prize purse of $3500 and you have a perfect recipe for some innovative and passionate surfing. Cronulla won last years NSW event ahead of North Steyne, Queenscliff and North Narrabeen and will be looking again to repeat the success of 2008.
However North Narrabeen will start their title defence as current Australian Jim Beam Surftag Champions on the Australia Day weekend; where they’ll be looking for their third consecutive Australian Title if they can qualify. The NSW Jim Beam Qualifier will be held at Curl Curl Beach on Saturday 24th Jan. with the event moving to North Narrabeen on Sunday 25th and Monday 26th.

The NSW Jim Beam Surftag is proudly supported by Jim Beam, FCS, O'Neill, Vmoto, Coastalwatch, Rockstar Energy Drink and Tracks.

What's your take on this?
Post your thoughts: SV Forum

New Survey: Map Surfing’s future 

More Australasian Surfing News available here
Check the latest Australasian Surf Reports and Forecasts

New! B2B News ASBE-Surf   |  Receive News-Alerts

NSW Jim Beam Surftag Media Manager:
Michael Tyrpenou

NSW Jim Beam Surftag Event Director:
Steve Harrison

Contests - Surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter