Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



All teams announced for the ISA World SUP Champs




ISA World StandUp Paddle & Paddleboard Champs

International Surfing Association
Lake Nicaragua, Nicaragua
30 April - 11 May, 2014

Check the Live Action

28 national teams and 220 athletes ready to roll

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 2 May, 2014 - Granada, Nicaragua - The International Surfing Association announces all the teams and athletes, who will be competing in Granada and La Boquita, Nicaragua for the 2014 ISA World StandUp Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship (WSUPPC).

The 28 National Teams that have confirmed their participation include, Australia, Barbados, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, El Salvador, France, Germany, Great Britain, Guatemala, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Mexico, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, South Africa, Spain, Tahiti, USA, Venezuela, and Wales.

In the largest ISA WSUPPC ever, nearly 220 athletes will fill the slots competing in the disciplines of SUP Surfing, SUP Racing, and prone Paddleboard in both Women’s and Men’s divisions.

“With the Opening Ceremony on Saturday and the start of competition on Sunday, the world’s best SUP Racers, SUP Surfers, and Paddleboarders have arrived in the beautiful country of Nicaragua,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “The teams will be enjoying training sessions at Lake Nicaragua for Racing and at La Boquita for SUP Surfing in preparation for the ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship.

The growth of this sport continues to amaze me! In just three years, the World Championship has expanded from 17 to 28 countries and more than doubled in the number of competitors. I’m expecting an incredible level of competition and I wish all the athletes the very best in the competition.”

The Championship will feature the world’s best SUP Racers and Surfers, and Paddleboarders including the defending Team Champion, Australia.  Also, returning to defend his Gold Medal in the SUP Technical Race will be Denmark’s Casper Steinfath, plus 2013 Gold Medalist in the Paddleboard Long Distance and Technical Races, Australia’s Jordan Mercer.

USA’s Sean Poynter and Brazil’s Nicole Pacelli will return to defend their Gold Medal in SUP Surfing. There will also be eight countries participating in the World Championship for the first time looking to cause major upsets including Barbados, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Italy, Latvia, Nicaragua, and Wales.

The 2014 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship will officially begin on Saturday, May 3rd with the Opening Ceremony, Parade of Nations and Sands of the World Ceremony that will be held in the historic, colonial, City of Granada. Founded in 1524, Granada is one of the oldest mainland cities in the Americas founded by the Spanish colonialists that remain in its original location.

On Sunday, the first day of competition will kick-off at 8am local time at La Boquita, on the Pacific Coast, with the Men’s and Women’s SUP Surfing.

Click here to see full list of registered National Teams 

Carlos Escaba

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter