Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Australian Logger Titles wrap up at Arrawarra Headland

Isaac Fields © Ethan Smith/SNSW




BCU Australian Surf Festival

Surfing Australia
Gallows Beach Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
31 July - 17 August 2015

Logger champs Fields, Davies, White, others crowned at Gallows Beach

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 8 August, 2015 - Arrawarra, Coffs Harbour - A handful of new Australian longboard and logger champions were crowned today at the bcu Australian Surf Festival, as a variety of different divisions wrapped up in long pointbreak waves at Arrawarra Headland. Isaac Fields (Evans Head, NSW) showed he was the silent assassin in the Open Mens Loggers, posting an 18.10 heat total (out of a possible 20 points) to claim the hotly contested final. 

At the halfway mark, the final looked like a two-horse race between Dane Pioli (Tweed Heads, NSW) and Clinton Guest (Kawana, Qld), however Fields was able to shoot straight into the top position thanks to a 9.50 wave score (out of a possible ten points); the highest wave score of the event so far. The North Coast surfer performed an eclectic mix of traditional manoeuvres to post the score and claim the title. As a result, Field took out the bcu money turn, which saw him awarded a $100.00 bank account courtesy of bcu.

Craig Davies (Peregian Beach, Qld) and Greg Brown (Jan Juc, Vic) went blow-for-blow in the Over-40 Mens Logger final, with both surfers getting within striking distance of the title, notching up a series of impressive scores. However, Davies was able to get the upper-hand, thanks to a series of lengthy nose-rides which saw him rewarded with a 15.60 heat total. Brown had to settle for second position, while Neil Thompson (WA) and Wally Allan (Cooroy, Qld) claimed third and fourth respectively.

Anthony Spencer (Trigg, WA) bagged the first title for Western Australia, claiming the Under-18 Boys Longboard division. Spencer notched up a heat total of 13.95 to get the edge over his fellow finalists. The West Australian goofy-footer smashed out some giant backhand turns over the course of his Australian Longboard Title campaign to take the win over Tom Morat (Sunrise Beach, Qld), who claimed the runner-up spot.

Tully White (Allambie Heights, NSW) dominated the Under-18 Girls Longboard division posting two excellent scoring waves in the eight-point range. As a result of the two-impressive scores, the Northern Beaches longboarder left her nearest rival, Lily Ellis (Yamba, NSW) chasing a near-perfect 9.35 wave score, which never came to fruition.

Nicholas Brewer (Castaways Beach, Qld) added another title to Queensland’s purse, taking out the Under-18 Loggers final. The stylish natural-footer posted a 15.65 heat total, which left all his fellow finalists chasing near-perfect scores to usurp him from the top spot.

The bcu Australian Surf Festival will resume tomorrow with the Australian Longboard Titles.

bcu will be providing a $100 bank account for the #bcumoneyturn, which will be awarded daily to the surfer who executes the biggest turn as determined by the head judge.

More than 500 surfers from around Australia will contest the surfing showpiece from July 31-August 17 with National titles to be decided in Open Surfmasters, Longboard, Logger and Bodyboard divisions.

A hotline - 0458 247 212 - will be operating for the festival which will feature a recorded message updated at 6:45am each morning with the confirmed daily schedule and contest venue. Full details, the latest news, videos and galleries can be found at

2015 bcu Australian Surf Festival – Coffs Harbour, NSW, July 31-August 17:

- Opening Ceremony – July 31
- Australian Surfmasters Titles – August 1-5
- Australian Longboard Titles – August 5-13
- Australian Logger Titles – August 6-9
- Australian Bodyboard Titles – August 13-17

The 2015 bcu Australian Surf Festival is proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW. The event is also proudly supported by bcu, Coffs Harbour City Council, Coffs Coast Tourism, The Hoey Moey, Nikon, Toyota, Pacific Longboarder, NBN, Australian Institute of Sport,, Surfing Australia and Surfing NSW.


Open Mens Logger

1 – Isaac Fields (Evans Head, NSW)

2 – Dane Pioli (Tweed Heads, NSW)

3 – Clinton Guest (Kawana, Qld)

4 – Nick Farago (Corrimal, NSW)

Over-40 Mens Logger

1 – Craig Davies (Peregian Beach, Qld)

2 – Greg Brown (Jan Juc, Vic)

3 – Neil Thompson (WA)

4 – Wally Allan (Cooroy, Qld)

Junior Women Longboard

1 – Tully White (Manly, NSW)

2 – Lily Ellis (Yamba, NSW)

3 – April Sweet (Shelly Beach, Qld)

4 – Morgan Griggs-Kennelly (Aireys Inlet, Vic)

Junior Men Longboard

1 – Anthony Spencer (Trigg, WA)

2 – Tom Morat (Sunrise Beach, Qld)

3 – Frank Murphy (Yamba, NSW)

4 – Reed Smith (Nashua, NSW)

Junior Men Logger

1 – Nicholas Brewer (Castaways Beach, Qld)

2 – Tom Morat (Sunrise Beach, Qld)

3 – Frank Murphy (Yamba, NSW)

4 – Darcy Turner (Sawtell, NSW)

Dev Lahey

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter