Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Best barrel? worst wipeout? Surfer Poll names names

Alain Riou : Framegrab from Tropically Yours



Award Updates

Winners announced December 6 at Turtle Bay

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 27 November, 2013 - San Clemente - Surfer Magazine announces the 2013 Surfer Poll video nominees. Every year, Surfer Poll Magazine pores over the films and shorts produced in the previous calendar year, and narrows down the best movies and performances. This year, there were so many noteworthy sessions and performances caught on tape, we’ve expanded the number of nominees in several categories to accommodate.
Also this year, for the first time in Surfer Poll history, we opened up the Worst Wipeout category to our Surfer readers, allowing them to vote online for the most harrowing wipeout and ultimately choose the winner.
Here are the 2013 Surfer Poll nominees:
Best Barrel
Dave Wassel, Tahiti, from Tropically Yours
Josh Kerr, Kirra, from Kirra 13
Didier Tinhin, Tahiti, from Tropically Yours
Randall Paulson, Pipeline, from Forecast Barrels
Craig Anderson, Skeleton Bay, form Slow Dance
Jordy Smith, Mozambique, from Now Now
John Florence, Tahiti, from Done

Worst Wipeout
Nakoa Decoite, Jaws, from Buttermilk Biscuits
Alain Riou, Teahupoo, from Tropically Yours
Peter Craig, Mullaghmore, Ireland, from Hallow Week
Tom Dosland, Jaws, from Buttermilk Biscuits 
Adam D’Esposito, Teahupoo, from Tropically Yours
Tereva David, Teahupoo, from Tropically Yours

Heavy Water
Mark Healey
Kohl Christensen
Koa Rothman
Shane Dorian
Ian Walsh
Shawn Dollar
Greg Long
Carlos Burle
Grant “Twiggy” Baker
Garrett McNamara

Best Documentary
The North Canyon, directed by Gustavo Neves
Uncharted Waters, directed by Craig Griffin
Hawaiian: The Legend of Eddie Aikau, directed by Sam George
The Ductumentary, directed by Graham Nash and Reagan Richie

Best Short
Now Now, directed by Jacob Wooden
Highline, directed by Ryan Perry
Abyss, directed by Jay Grant
Begin Again, directed by Blake Kueny
Ice Cream, directed by Joe G
Nti Sheeto, directed by Dion Agius
Best Performance
Mick Fanning, Anything Sing
John Florence, Done
Craig Anderson, Slow Dance
Conner Coffin, Highline
Jordy Smith, Now Now
Shane Dorian, Anything Sing
Movie of the Year
Tropically Yours, directed by David Malcolm
Uncharted Waters, directed by Craig Griffin
Done, directed by Blake Kueny
Slow Dance, directed by Dane Reynolds
Hawaii: The Legend of Eddie Aikau, directed by Sam George
The 2013 Surfer Poll, which will be broadcast live from Turtle Bay on Dec. 6 beginning at 7 p.m. HST, will also include awards for the Top 10 Men and Top 5 Women, as well as A.I. Breakthrough Performer and Agent of Change.



Dawn Hamilton

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter