Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Best schools in New South Wales named at state titles

Judd Brown © Ethan Smith/SNSW




NRMA NSW Schools Titles

Surfing New South Wales
Middle Rock Beach, Lake Cathie NSW
12 - 16 July 2015

Champions crowned at NRMA NSW Schools Titles

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 16 July, 2015 - Rainbow Beach - The NRMA NSW Schools Titles wrapped up today with four new champions being crowned after a series of hotly contested finals in picturesque two-to-three foot waves at Rainbow Beach, Bonny Hills.

Macy Callaghan (Avoca – Kincumber High) capped off her school holidays in fine form, taking out the Junior Womens (Under-16) final. After claiming wins in the 16-and-Under division at the Skullcandy Oz Grom Open and the Occy Grom Comp over the course of the last fortnight, Callaghan was able to bag herself a third trophy with a massive 18.83 heat total (out of a possible 20 points).

Callaghan performed a barrage of giant backhand hooks to post the score and get the title ahead of Sophia Fulton (Cabarita – SXDE), Bodhi Leigh-Jones (Avalon – Mater Maria Catholic College) and Sienna Coulter (Balgowlah – Queenwood) who finished in second, third and fourth respectively.

Mikey McDonagh (Lennox Head – SXDE) mirrored Callaghan’s performance, taking out the Junior Mens (Under-16) final, as well as previous titles in the Occy Grom Comp and Skullcandy Oz Grom Open. McDonagh surfed well beyond his years in the final, posting a heat total of 16.16, which left all his fellow finalists chasing a combination of scores to take away his win. Runner-up Sandon Whittaker (Avoca) remained in striking distance of the title for a portion of the final, but suffered an interference in the final five minutes, which enabled McDonagh to steal the win.

Alysse Cooper (Queenscliff – Macellar Girls) put on a dynamic performance in the Senior Women, posting a handful of respectable scores. The Northern Beaches goofy-footer overcame an in-form field of Danielle Hancock (Nords Wharf – Swansea High School), Paris Whittaker (Caringbah – Distance Education) and Rubie Reents (Narrawallee – Ulladulla High School) – who claimed second, third and fourth respectively - with a heat total of 14.67.

Zac Wightman (Lennox Head – Xavier College) never looked like slowing down in the Senior Mens final nailing a series of mammoth backside hooks. The North Coast goofy-footer posted a near perfect 9.8 wave score to get the edge over his fellow finalists. Darcy Crump (Avalon – Barranjoey High), Nathan Cook (Forresters Beach – Terrigal High) and Zac Condon (Lennox Head – Woodlawn) all showed moments of brilliance and remained in striking distance over the course of the final, but were unable to topple Wightman from the top position.

2015 is the fifth year Surfing NSW combined the NSW School Surfing Titles into the event.

Supporting partner Unleashed Travel gave away one free return trip to Fiji to the winner of the highest wave score of the event, which was awarded to Rubie Reents for a near-perfect 9.93 scoring wave she posted yesterday.

Over 350 competitors participated in the NRMA NSW Schools Titles  and the NRMA NSW Junior State Titles as they fought for a NSW Junior Title and in turn, earn their position into the upcoming 2015 Surf Dive N Ski Australian Junior Surfing Titles, which will take place on Stradbroke Island from November 28 – December 5.


Junior Women (Under-16)
1 – Macy Callaghan (Avoca – Kincumber High) – 18.83
2 – Sophia Fulton (Cabarita - SXDE) – 12.93
3 – Bodhi Leigh-Jones (Avalon - Mater Maria Catholic College) – 8.7
4 – Sienna Coulter (Balgowlah - Queenwood) – 6.34

Junior Men (Under-16)
1 – Mikey McDonagh (Lennox Head – SXDE) – 16.16
2 – Sandon Whittaker (Avoca – Kincumber High) – 10.85
3 – Joel Paxton (Byron Bay – Byron Bay High School) - 10.37
4 – Jamie Thomson (Narrabeen – Narrabeen Sports High) – 5.96

Senior Women (Under-19)
1 – Alysse Cooper (Queenscliff – Macellar Girls) –14.67
2 – Danielle Hancock (Nords Wharf – Swansea High School) – 11.3
3 – Paris Whittaker (Caringbah – Distance Education) – 9.00
4 – Rubie Reents (Narrawallee – Ulladulla High School) – 5.19

Senior Men (Under-19)
1 – Zac Wightman (Lennox Head – Xavier College)
2 – Darcy Crump (Avalon – Barranjoey High)
3 – Nathan Cook (Forresters Beach – Terrigal High)
4 – Zac Condon (Lennox Head - Wood

Under-19 Girls MR Shield
Ulladulla High School – Rubie Reents and Skyla Raynor

Under-19 Boys MR Shield
Woodlawn  - Zac Condon and Luke Condon

Under-16 Boys MR Shield
SXDE – Mikey McDonagh and Josh Van Neirkerk

Ethan Smith

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter