Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Billabong Pro Tahiti calls Lay Day on Thursday




Billabong Pro Tahiti

ASP Men's World Tour Championship Event
Teahupo'o Tahiti
15 - 26 August 2014

Check the Live Action

Strong swells on track for Sunday afternoon through Tuesday

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 21 August, 2014 - Teahupo'o, Tahiti - The Billabong Pro Tahiti, stop no. 7 on the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour, has been put on STANDBY with 6-to-8 foot waves and onshore winds at Teahupo'o. A second consecutive lay day has been called and event organizers will reconvene at 7:00 a.m. local time (TAHT/GMT -10) on Friday, August 22 to assess conditions.

"Nothing really came together today," said ASP Commissioner Kieren Perrow. "There's a lot of lump and bump in the ocean still so we won't be running any heats today. Things are shaping up amazingly for the last few days of the waiting period and if that holds true we're going to have a really great finish to the event in solid double-overhead surf."

Surfline, official surf forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, have called for: Strong SW swell prevails Thursday with an easing trend through the day. Local wind and weather will improve with wind shifting from SE to ESE through the day at moderate levels. We’ll see a new swell late Friday and Saturday, although it will be much smaller than the past couple pulses. Another series of strong SW to SSW swells are on track for Sunday afternoon through Tuesday. Wind looks mostly light and variable during that run of swells, with periods of weak trades possible. 

Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 2 Upcoming Match-Ups 
Heat 12: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)

Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 3 Match-Ups
Heat 1: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 2: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Heat 3: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Aritz Aranburu (ESP)
Heat 4: Kolohe Andino (USA) vs. Mitch Crews (AUS)
Heat 5: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. C.J. Hobgood (USA)
Heat 6: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Nathan Hedge (AUS)
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 8: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Sebastian Zietz (HAW)
Heat 9: Nat Young (USA) vs. Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 10: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 11: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. TBD
Heat 12: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Dion Atkinson (AUS)

Dave Prodan

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter