Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Chile & Peru ASP BWWT events could go



Quiksilver Ceremonial Punta de Lobos

ASP BWWT event #1
Punta de Lobos, Chile
15 April - 31 August 2014

Check the live webcast

30-Foot Swell Headed for Chile, Peru may go as well

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 27 June, 2014 - Today, the ASP Big Wave World Tour (BWWT) is placing the Quiksilver Ceremonial in Punta de Lobos, Chile as well as the Billabong Pico Alto, Peru on Yellow Alert with a projected 30-foot ocean swell heading towards the region. Event organizers will monitor conditions closely and declare a Green Alert 48 hours prior to the commencement of either event, conditions permitting. Watch the world’s elite surfers riding giant waves -- live at

 "The system is moving northeast from Antarctica and expected to land in the region by July 2nd," said Peter Mel, ASP Deputy Commissioner. "If the elements continue to align, we’ll declare a start to this year’s first big-wave competition. Currently, we have a few options with this swell: run in Chile, run in Peru, run in both or run in neither. Our goal is always to put the world’s best big wave surfers in the world’s best big waves and Mother Nature ultimately makes this call. There are a lot of moving parts to these events and we have a great team behind us in preparing for South America."
The 2014/2015 BWWT season is divided into Southern Hemisphere and Northern Hemisphere components hosting three possible events within each. The Southern Hemisphere window runs from April 15 to August 31, 2014 with event options in Chile, Peru and South Africa. The Northern Hemisphere window runs from October 15, 2014 to February 28, 2015 with event options in Mexico, the Basque Region of Spain, and Maui.
"We're halfway through the Southern Hemisphere window and we're very excited at the possibility of getting the season underway," Mel continued. "The last time we ran at Chile was in 2011 and it was Marcos Monteiro from Brazil who won it. We ran Peru in 2012 and Carlos Burle, also of Brazil, won. The Brazilians have had a lock on the South American events lately and we have a great field heading into these opening events for 2014. We'll be closely monitoring all the charts and data in the coming days."
A team of experts track swell systems all over the world waiting for those that will produce waves in the 30-foot-and-larger range for one of the six world-class big wave venues. 
Surfline, official forecasters for the 2014/2015 ASP BWWT season, are reporting the following: We're currently monitoring the development of a major storm in the southeast Pacific off the coast of Chile. If this storm behaves as forecast in the next few days, Chile and Peru will see the largest swell of the season, thus far, and one of the more impressive swells of the last couple years. The current thinking is that this swell will rapidly build into central Chile late on Tuesday the 1st, with peak day at Punta de Lobos on Wednesday the 2nd with face sizes easily exceeding the minimum requirements to run a BWWT event (30') if the storm behaves as forecast. The big wildcard will be local wind conditions which could prove to be problematic and will need to be closely monitored over the next couple days. Pico Alto, Peru would see a peak day of swell on Thursday the 3rd and local wind conditions look manageable at this point. 
The 24-man fields for the Quiksilver Ceremonial Chile and the Billabong Pico Alto will be comprised of the ASP BWWT Top 12, lead by reigning world champion Grant 'Twiggy' Baker, as well as six ASP wildcards and six local wildcards:



ASP Top 12:
1. Grant Baker (ZAF)
2. Ken Collins (USA)
3. Nic Lamb (USA)
4. Shawn Dollar (USA)
5. Kohl Christensen (HAW)
6. Alex Gray (USA)
7. Greg Long (USA)
8. Ryan Augestein (USA)
9. Anthony Tashnick (USA)
10. Ramon Navarro (CHL)
11. Jamie Mitchell (AUS)
12. Tyler Fox (USA)
ASP BWWT Chile Wildcards:

1. Kelly Slater (USA)
2. Damien Hobgood (USA)
3. Mark Healey (HAW)
4. Nathan Fletcher (USA)
5. Marcos Monteiro (BRA)
6. Gabriel Villaran (PER)
Local Chile Wildcards:

1. Diego Medina
2. Christian Morello
3. Fernando Zegers
4. Mekis Federico
5. Reinaldo Ibarra 
6. Rafael Tapia
ASP BWWT Peru Wildcards:
1. Kelly Slater (USA)
2. Ben Wilkinson (AUS)
3. Makua Rothman (HAW)
4. Jamie Sterling (HAW)
5. Carlos Burle (BRA)
6. Gabriel Villaran (PER)
Local Peru Wildcards:
1. Miguel Tudela
2. Rafael Velarde
3. Kodiak Semsch
4. Tamil Martino
5. Alejo Loret del Mola
6. Renzo Zazzali


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter