Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Culburra Beach Boardriders take out Kiama boardies event

Billie Melinz © Ethan Smith/SNSW



NSW Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle

Surfing New South Wales
Jones Beach Kiama, New South Wales
10 January 2015

 Club claims Southern NSW Original Source Boardriders Battle

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 10 January, 2015 - Jones Beach, Kiama - Culburra Beach Boardriders are the Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle southern NSW champions after taking out the tightly contested event in clean two-to-three foot peaks at Jones Beach.

Culburra, Scarborough and Bondi went neck-and-neck for overall victory up until the dying moments of the day. The victory was ultimately decided when Bondi managed to take out the Teams division, which consequently nabbed them the runner-up position and handed the overall win to Culburra, hence knocking Scarborough down into the third position. As a result Culburra Beach Boardriders – which only formed in 2014 – booked their spot into the National Final on the Australia Day Long Weekend alongside Bondi Boardriders.
“This is the perfect way to kick-start 2015 and the beginning of our new club. There’s no better feeling really,” said Culburra’s power-surfer Ty Watson. “We had such a good support network here and Owen [Wright - current WSL World Championship Tour surfer] even came along and got behind the team. We all gelled so well together as a team and gained a lot of confidence from this win.  We can’t wait for the Australia Day Long Weekend.”
The Milwaukee Heavy Duty Hack award was presented to Elouera’s Connor O’Leary for claiming a series of back-to-back victories in the Skins division.
The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle is the country's biggest grassroots, boardriders event series with $120,000 in prize money. It will involve more than 100 of Australia's best boardriders clubs in eight State qualifying rounds starting in October and culminate in a two-day, national final for 20 clubs on the Australia Day Long Weekend on 24-25 January, 2015 at Cronulla in Sydney.
Each club team will include one junior (Under 18) surfer, four Open age surfers, and one over 35 surfer. Each team must include one female surfer. An exciting event format will see teams battle it out in a Women's division, five-person Teams' division and a Skins competition.
The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle is proudly supported by naming rights partner Original Source and major support partners in Toyota, Nikon, Oakley, Boost Mobile, Sutherland Shire Council, Milwaukee, FCS, Surfing Life, Fuel TV and Strategic Partner Destination NSW.
The series is officially sanctioned by the World Surf League (WSL), which allows Australian WSL World Championship Tour surfers (men and women) the opportunity to represent their local boardriders club at respective State qualifying events and the National Final.
In total $120,000 is up for grabs across the entire National Series including the National Final. There is $33,000 available across the eight State qualifying events, while $87,000 will be on offer at the National Final. The winning boardriders club will receive $20,000, while $42,000 will be split between the clubs finishing second to 20th.
The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle also includes a $60,000 Monster Raffle giveaway with one lucky ticket holder to drive away in a new Toyota RAV4 valued at $55,000. Other prize packs will be provided by Milwaukee, Original Source, Nikon, Oakley, Boost Mobile and FCS. The Monster Raffle is open to all Surfing Australia affiliated boardriders clubs with proceeds returning to the boardriders club community.
Winning Team Members - Culburra
Jay Quinn
Ty Watson
Jordy Watson
Tyler Wright
Mick Buckpitt
Ben Buckpitt
1 - Culburra Beach Boardriders 5525
2 – Bondi Boardriders 5400
3 – Scarborough Boardriders 5050
4  - Elouera Boardriders 4362
5 – Maroubra Boardriders 4274
6 – Southbridge Boardriders 4162
7 – Sandon Point Boardriders 3762
8 – Werri Boardriders 3672
9 – Cronulla Point Boardriders 3562
10 - Jones Beach Boardriders  3450
11 – Woonoona Boardriders 3050
11 – Garie Boardriders 3050

Ethan Smith

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter