Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.


Durban Surf Carnival celebrates the glide

Carnival winners © Durban Surf Carnivals

SUP Updates

Exciting End to Durban Surf Carnival

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 12 June, 2013 : - - The Durban Surf Carnival presented by Jeep Apparel at New Pier on Durban’s Golden Mile came to an exciting close this past weekend. This multi-disciplined three day surfing event, which is in its 11th year and second year in Durban, drew great crowds who enjoyed good waves throughout. World class events that included the Longboarding, Stand Up Paddle boarding (SUP) and Retro Surfing brought in prizes worth over R200 000.

Paul Godwin, from Nerve Events, thanked major sponsors of the event - the City of Durban, Jeep Apparel and The Independent on Saturday – as well as support sponsors, contestants and the public for making the Durban Surf Carnival a major success. 

Stand up Paddle events included the SUPSA sanctioned Open Men and Women’s divisions as well as the Juniors and legends division (over 45). The winners of the Open, Men and Women’s divisions will be eligible for squad selection to represent South Africa at the 2014 ISA Stand Up Paddle World Championship

The SUP final was won by Brandon Ribbink (KZN) with Justin Bing (WP) in second place. Ribbink took top honours with scores of a 10’ s and a nine. Joining them were Western Province’s junior surfers, Dylan Frick and Oswald Smith, who were placed third and fourth respectively.

Ribbink said that, for him, this year’s event was “amazing” but said that he knew that it would be tough. “It was brilliant and we had fantastic waves for all three days. I enjoyed each moment,” he said. This was the second time he has won this event, having taken top honours in 2011.

The Ladies SUP Final was won by Tammy Robarts (Boland). Up and coming talent 15 year-old Mishka Steyn (WP) took second with compatriots Tarryn Kyte (WP) and Sue Maxwell (WP) finishing third and fourth respectively.

The SUP Junior division was hotly contested with first prize going to 17 year-old Dylan Frick (WP). Frick’s scores included a 8.5 and a 7.5. Ethan Koopmans (WP), Oswald Smith (WP) and Matt Maxwell achieved second, third and fourth respectively.

The KZN Longboard Open Championships, sanctioned by the Kwa Zulu Natal Longboard Surfing Association (KZNLSA) was won by Justin Bing (WP) who scored a perfect 10 and a backup of a nine. Luke Patterson (KZN) fought hard but had to settle for second while Josch Schmeltzer (KZN) and Thomas King were third and fourth respectively. 

After receiving his prize, Bing also praised New Pier’s good waves and said that he would not only be back to defend his title again next year but would bring others with him.

The over 50 longboard final was an all Durban affair with some great surfing from Hugh Thompson who took the win with stylish surfing and a total heat score of 17.5. Hot on his heels in second place was former SA Team captain, Barry Campbell. Third and fourth went to New Pier locals Bush Greeff and Colin Whitmore.

The “golden” event of this year’s carnival was the Forgotten Soul Retro Surfing Division. Held for the first time, this required the surfer to ride a single-fin surfboard which generally falls into the sub 7’0” category. Here, Justin Maisch (SC) was unstoppable, pulling off the traditional manoevres that were reminiscent of surfing in the seventies. He was followed by shortboard ace, Chad du Toit (KZN), second and Justin Bing (WP) and Gregg Mundy (KZN) third and fourth respectively.

Maisch described this even as fun but said that riding waves with an “old school” board was far more difficult than when using today’s high tech version. He, too, says he’ll be back to defend his title next year.

Ladies Longboard division:
1st place - Heather Klug (KZN),
2nd place- Tarryn Kyte (WP),
3rd place- Traci-Lee Phillips(KZN),
4th place- Zanie Cawood (KZN)

Over 45 SUP Division-
1st place- Grantley Reid (KZN),
2nd place- Gary Van Rooyen (WP),
3rd place- Dave Maxwell (WP), 
4th place- Fred Le Roux (ZLD)

Over 35 longboard category:
1st place- Grant Gilmour (KZN),
2nd place- Justin Maisch (SKZN),
3rd place- Craig Daniel (KZN),
4th place- Andre Steyn (KZN)

Source: S&A

Author: Steven J Brown

Tags: Durban, Festivals, Durban Surf Carnival

SUP: Surfersvillage


Latest photos