Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Eastern Surfing Association inducts 2015 All-Stars



ESA Updates

All-Star Team exemplifies the best of the ESA

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 22 January, 2015 - The Eastern Surfing Association held its annual All-Star Team induction ceremony at Surf Expo last weekend in Orlando, Florida.  The ESA All-Star Program, which began over 30 years ago, includes some of the best competitors the ESA has to offer.  Each All-Star Team member has had to meet a variety of criteria in order to have been chosen for the 2015 squad by the ESA All-Star Committee.   

“We are excited to present an All-Star Team that exemplifies the best of the ESA,” says ESA Executive Director, Michelle Sommers.  “Not only does one need to be a strong competitor to make the team, but must also set a good example with regard to sportsmanship and dedication to the organization.” 

The 2015 All-Star Members are:

Maria Barend
Jared Bono
Spencer Bridges
Trip Chandler
Georgia Cook
Grey Copenhaver
Braiden Cunningham
Shealyn Cunningham
Charlie Current
Hartley DePass
Olivia Dilling
Noah Dovin
Julia Eckel
Cooper Fortney
Nohea Futrell
Lars Hamilton
Simon Hetrick
Thomas Horner
Cory Jackson
Kallie Leonik
Patrick McCarron
Evan Micele
Selena Moberly
Jordan Montgomery
Gabe Morvil
Kat Neff
Kai Nichols
Parker Sawyer                
Kyle Tester
Douglas Wendell III
Lily Whatley

Also new to the 2015 All-Star Team are regional adult mentors, who will be working closely with the team members in their respective areas of the East Coast and during travel.  The new mentors include:

Chuck & Ana Barend
Kai Dilling
Haley Watson
Ricky Judalena
Rod Logan
David Taylor
Lenny Nichols
Jo Pickett

All-Star Team member Simon Hetrick says, “I'm beyond happy to be a part of the Team again this year and the All-Star induction ceremony was great!  I'm super thankful for the opportunity to have been able to attend Surf Expo to meet up with sponsors, friends, and the surf industry in general. It's a great group of kids and mentors.”  

Maria Barend, another All-Star says, “It was an honor to be inducted as an All-Star at Surf Expo.  I will never forget this experience.”

On Sunday January 11, the All-Star Team met at Ponce Inlet, Florida with former All-Star and ASP Pro Tour vet Shea Lopez for a day of team building.  Lopez, owner of LopezS Boards, will continue to work with the organization to help align influential members of the surfing community with the talented athletes of the ESA All-Star Team.  

“Growing up competing in the ESA led my brother Cory and me to a career surfing contests around the world,” Lopez says. “Now we have returned home to raise our own families around the same beach lifestyle we grew up with.  It was a pleasure to have Cory and a number of former ESA stars turned professional surfers join the 2015 ESA All-Star Team for a surf and pizza party near our home in Daytona Beach.” 

“The training on Sunday was a great opportunity to surf together and cheer each other on,” states Barend.  “I was stoked to get a fun session in at Ponce, meet up with Shea, and grab some grub with good friends,” adds Hetrick.

The All-Star Team is also very excited to welcome Rip Curl as an “Official Team Sponsor” for 2015.  “Rip Curl supports some of the best surfers in the world and we are thrilled to have them support our All-Star Team,” says Sommers.

Dylan Slater, Rip Curl’s Vice President of Marketing says, “"Rip Curl is excited and honored to support the next generation of the East Coast's top talent. The ESA All-Stars have a prestigious legacy, and Rip Curl is happy to be a part of it."

The entire team will be traveling over a three-week period to the North Shore of Oahu in February and March for professional training with several elite surf coaches.  

Michelle Sommers

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter