Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



European QS leg culminates with first-ever Morocco WSL event

Contest site for the Quiksilver Pro Casablanca © WSL / Laurel



Quiksilver Pro Casablanca

World Surf League QS1,500 Men's Event
​Anfaplace Shopping Center, Casablanca, Morocco
8 - 12 September 2015

Men's European title race will be decided once Casablanca event ends

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 7 September, 2015 - Anfaplace Shopping Center, Casablanca  Morocco - Top European surfers and international competitors have flocked to the Moroccan shores to attend the inaugural Royal Moroccan Surfing Federation presents Quiksilver Pro Casablanca at Anfaplace, a men’s QS1,500 event starting Tuesday in Casablanca. 

The fifth event on the men’s European Qualifying Series, this event will crown  the 2015 European Champion and award the lucky winner a wildcard spot in all QS events of the first half of 2016. With reigning Champion Joan Duru (FRA) and current rankings No.1 Maxime Huscenot (FRA), not competing in Morocco, the door is wide opened for the next generation of athletes to swoop in and take the crown. The season tally to beat being at the 14,020 points mark, potentially up to twenty surfers could clinch the European title in Morocco, making for a super exciting event in Casablanca.

For the first time in the history of professional surfing, Morocco will host competitors from all-over the planet and witness high-performance surfing battles in the Casablanca waters. With a good forecast on the horizon, the Moroccan crowds of surf afficionados, local enthusiasts and tourists on vacation should be treated to a great show under the Moroccan sun.

Since 2005, the Federation develops surfing through a diversity of events all-across the Moroccan shores and follows national surfers with not only diverse training programs but also financial support. Co-organizer of this event, its role in promoting and supporting the organization is undeniable. This inaugural competition will also be the occasion to discover the local talent pool of Moroccan surfers coming up.

When Casablanca — the largest city of Morocco — was chosen to host this event, Anfapace Shopping Center mixing the city vibe and idyllic setup of a white-sanded beach was an obvious choice of location. A partnership with this brand new commercial center located right on the water’s edge with a direct access to the beach allowed the event to happen in the best of conditions.

The Quiksilver Pro Casablanca is scheduled from September 8-12, 2015 at Anfaplace, Casablanca - Morocco. The Quiksilver Pro Casablanca is supported by the Royal Moroccan Surfing Federation, Anfaplace Shopping Center, Quiksilver, Office National Marocain du Tourisme (ONMT) and the MDJS among others.



Heat 1: Cody Robinson (AUS), Louis Gillick (AUS), Facundo Arreyes (ARG) 

Heat 2: Diego Mignot (FRA), O'Neill Massin (PYF), Aboubakar Bouaouda (MAR), Mark Boyd (SCO)

Heat 3: Perth Standlick (AUS), Anthony Fillingim (CRI), Arne Bergwinkl (DEU), Assad Harakat (MAR)

Heat 4: Tommy Boucaut (FRA), Gatien Delahaye (GLP), Michael Zaugg (CHE), Llyass Gougali (MAR)

Heat 5: Harrison Mann (AUS), Elliot Paerata-Reid (NZL), Remi Petersen (NLD) 

Heat 6: Hodei Collazo (EUK), Matthew McGillivray (ZAF), Yassine Ramdani (MAR), Othmane Choufani (MAR)

Heat 7: Teale Vanner (AUS), Ruben Gonzalez (PRT),Francisco Usuna (ARG) 

Heat 8: Dean Bowen (AUS),Harrison Martin (AUS), Lucas Madrid (URY), Abdelhanine Dribki (MAR)

Heat 9: Shane Campbell (AUS), Lliam Mortensen (AUS), Joao Guedes (PRT) 

Heat 10: Nelson Cloarec (FRA), Nate Dorman (USA), Jade Azami (MAR), Soufiane Charoub (MAR)

Heat 11: Nomme Mignot (FRA) , Julen Egiguren (EUK), Gabriel Aramburu (PER), Bachir Kindi (MAR)

Heat 12: Landon McNamara (HAW), Ariihoe Tefaafana (PYF), Greg Urata (USA), Jao Errera (FRA)

Heat 13: Caiden Fowler (AUS), Eduardo Fernandes (PRT), Tomas Lopez Moreno (ARG) 

Heat 14: Marc Lacomare (FRA), Allen Schuyler (HAW), Mohamed Berrada (MAR), Mohamed Chliyeh (MAR)

Heat 15: Raphael Seixas (BRA), Reubyn Ash (GBR), Swen Zaugg (CHE) 

Heat 16: Guy Sato (JPN), Tereva David (PYF), Santiago Madrid (URY), Adil El Harrif (MAR)

Nicolas Leroy

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter