Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Filipe Toledo crowned ASP South America Pro Jr champ

Podium © Fabriciano Junior


Surf Eco Festival
Presented by Billabong

ASP South America Pro Junior Series
Jaguaribe Beach, Salvador Bahia Brazil
29 August - 3 September

Live Coverage  |  Results/Photos/Videos etc

South American Team for the ASP World Junior Tour 2011 Announced  |  Portugais

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 1 September, 2011 : - - As part of the Surf Eco Festival presented by Billabong, the ASP South America Men's Pro Junior Series 2011 finished off in excellent conditions with sunny skies and waves in the 2-3 foot (0.5-1.0 meter) range today (Wednesday) at Jaguaribe Beach, Salvador, Bahia, Brazil. Filipe Toledo (BRA) entered the final as the newly crowned ASP South America Pro Junior champion. He completed his achievement by defeating Michael Rodrigues (BRA) in the Final to take home the event title as well.
“I'm so happy, I don't even know what to say,” said Filipe Toledo. “I'm so glad that I'm the South American champ and that I also classified for the World Pro Junior Tour, which was my priority. I just came here hoping to qualify, but after I found out that I had the chance to bring home the title, I just concentrated even more and I'm stoked to have succeeded.”
The surprise surfer of the event was Michael Rodrigues (BRA) who made it to the Final without competing in any prior events in the ASP South America Pro Junior Series 2011 and caused some major upsets. “That kid (Michael Rodrigues) rips,” said Toledo. “He does huge aerials and surprised everyone by surfing great in all his heats and making it to the Final. I think it's the first time he ever competed in a Pro Junior so congrats to him on what he accomplished.”
The surfers that have qualified for the ASP World Pro Junior Tour are: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Ian Gouveia (BRA), Gustavo Machado (BRA), Deivid Silva (BRA), Joao Paulo Abreu (BRA), and Marco Fernandez (BRA). The first event will be in Bali, Indonesia and is scheduled for October 3-14. The second event will take place in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil from October 24-November 2. The final stop will be the traditional Billabong held in Sydney, Australia from January 8-16, 2012.
Besides the Top 4 surfers in the ASP South America Pro Junior Ranking, the final two openings that qualify for the ASP World Pro Junior Tour are given to the surfers with the highest ASP Junior Men's Ranking. They would be given to Gabriel Medina (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA) or Jesse Mendes (BRA). But since they are all in the race for qualifying for the ASP World Tour, they chose not to participate in the Pro Junior Series.
The ASP South America Women's Pro Junior champion was only decided in the last heat of competition. Gabriela Leite (BRA) fought hard and won the event and will represent South America in the ASP World Women's Pro Junior Tour alongside the event's Runner-Up, Juliana Meneguel (BRA).
“I've been working really hard for this for a few years now,” said Gabriela Leite. “Diana (Cristina, 4X South America Junior champion) was always in the way and never let me win, but I finally did it this year. And I still wanted to get Juliana (Meneguel) back for her win over me in the Final of the first event in Itajai. We're good friends and she surfs great, but in the water we're rivals and I really wanted to win the South American title, so I'm happy that everything worked out.”
ASP WORLD 2-STAR - After three days dedicated to the Pro Junior event, the Billabong Surf Eco Festival will begin the ASP World 2-Star competition at the same site at Jaguaribe Beach, Salvador. 500 points will be awarded to the event winner which will go toward their ASP World and ASP South America Surf Series Ranking.  Competition begins this Thursday at 10am local time.
The Surf Eco Festival is brought to you by Dende Productions and Axe Mix and presented by Billabong and is sponsored by the State of Bahia, the City of Salvador and by Petrobras, Skol, Azul Airlines and Monster Energy. Together, the event organizers combine sports with local artistic presentations to promote environmental education throughout the week at Jaguaribe Beach.  

Champion: Filipe Toledo (BRA) - 15,75 points - US$ 3.000 and 750 points
Runner up: Michael Rodrigues (BRA) - 10,50 points - US$ 2.000 and 563 points
SEMIFINALS – 3th place – US$ 1.250 and 422 points:
SF 1: Filipe Toledo (BRA) 15.65 x 13.90 Peterson Crisanto (BRA)
SF 2: Michael Rodrigues (BRA) 14.40 x 11.95 Joao Paulo Abreu (BRA)
QUARTER-FINALS – 5th place - US$ 750 and 316 points:
QF 1: Filipe Toledo (BRA) 15.25 x 14.10 Luan Carvalho (BRA)
QF 2: Peterson Crisanto (BRA) 15.40 x 10.60 Ian Gouveia (BRA)
QF 3: Michael Rodrigues (BRA) 15.25 x 15.00 Caio Ibelli (BRA)
QF 4: Joao Paulo Abreu (BRA) 15.15 x 13.10 Italo Ferreira (BRA)

Check the Full Men's Results
Champion: Gabriela Leite (BRA) - 13,00 points - US$ 900 and 250 points
Runner up: Juliana Meneguel (BRA) - 6,25 points - US$ 600 and 188 points
SEMIFINALS – 3th place – US$ 350 and 141 points:
SF 1: Gabriela Leite (BRA) 11.50 x 8.00 Natali Paola (BRA)
SF 2: Juliana Meneguel (BRA) 14.75 x 9.65 Monik Santos (BRA)

Check the Full Women's Results
Champion: Filipe Toledo (BRA-SP) – 1.160 points
02: Ian Gouveia (BRA-PE) – 1.132
03: Gustavo Machado (BRA-SC) – 972
04: Joao Paulo Abreu (BRA-SC) – 963
05: Deivid Silva (BRA-SP) – 912
06: Marco Fernandez (BRA-BA) – 849
----------- out:
7.o: Peterson Crisanto (BRA-PR) – 725 pontos
8.o: Caio Ibelli (BRA-SP) – 702
9.o: Italo Ferreira (BRA-RN) – 624
10: Caue Wood (BRA-SC) – 581
Champion: Gabriela Leite (BRA-SC) – 875 points
2.o lugar: Juliana Meneguel (BRA-SP) - 829
3.o: Monik Santos (BRA-PE) – 719
4.o: Kaena Brandi (BRA-SP) – 610
5.o: Natali Paola (BRA-SP) – 493 

Survey: Map Surfing’s future 

More Surfing News available here
Check the latest Surf Reports and Forecasts 

B2B News ASBE-Surf   |  Receive News-Alerts

Gabriel Gontijo

Junior Contests - Surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter