Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Four champs crowned at the Women’s Summersurf Challenge

Under 14 finalists © Nick Ferreira/SSA




Women’s Summersurf Challenge 
Presented by Roxy

Surfing South Africa
​Bay of Plenty, Durban South Afirca
6 March 2016

Nicole Pallet, Kirsty McGillivray, Sophie Bell and S’nenhlanhla Makhubu win

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 7 March, 2016 - Nicole Pallet of La Lucia, Kirsty McGillivray of Jeffreys Bay, Sophie Bell of Umdloti and S’nenhlanhla Makhubu of Durban won the four titles on offer at the 2016 Women’s Summersurf Challenge presented by Roxy and supported by Sport and Recreation SA in 2- 3 foot surf at the Bay of Plenty in Durban Sunday.

Pallet, the 2015 U20 SA Champion who returned from competing in Australia a few days before the event got under way displayed the experience she gained at this level when she posted a 9 point ride in the Final to secure top spot. National Team members Faye Zoetmulder of Port Elizabeth and Tanika Hoffman of Hout Bay were second and third respectively.

2015 SA Junior Team member Chanelle Botha of Warner Beach was fourth.

2015 South African U15 Champion Kirsty McGillivray stole the show when she took honours in the U18 Division and came second in the U16 Division Final. Anna Jellema Butler of Kalk Bay was second with Danica Stockigt of East London taking third spot and Cana Foster of Umdloti ending fourth.


Former SA U15 Champion and 2015 SA Junior Team member Sophie Bell of Umdloti took top spot in the U16 Final ahead of McGillivray with Nina Harmse of Herolds Bay third and 2015 SA Junior Team member Olivia Izzard of La Lucia fourth.

After some good results in recent contests local girl S’Nenhlanhla Makhubu achieved one of her surfing goals when she won the U14 title in this premier Surfing South Africa PST event. A stoked Makhubu beat another up and coming talent, Gabi Lailvaux of Westbrook, into second spot. Regular finalist Kayla Nogueira of Umhlanga was third and Summer Sutton of Kommetjie took the fourth spot.

The Women’s Summersurf Challenge, a 2A rated Surfing South Africa PST event was completed in 2- 3 foot surf and lights winds. Over R20000 in prize money and prizes as well as ratings points were on offer to the surfers who reached the respective finals in this “stand alone” women’s’ surfing contest.

The 2016 Surfing South Africa Women’s Summersurf Challenge was presented by Roxy and supported by a grant from Sport and Recreation South Africa.

Surfing South Africa is the governing body for the sport and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA).


Open Final Results
1. Nicole Pallet
2. Faye Zoetmulder
3. Tanika Hoffman
4. Chanelle Botha

Under 18 Final
1. Kirsty McGillivray
2. Anna Jellema Butler
3. Danica Stockigt
4. Cana Foster

Robin de Kock

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter