Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



French dominate Junior International Shootout in Durban

Matthew McGillivray, winner of the U18 Final © Pat Flanagan



Junior International Shootout 

Surfing South Africa
Dairy Beach, Durban South Africa
21 - 22 February 2015

French post twelve finalists to South Africa’s two

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 23 February, 2015 - French surfers won three of the finals and Matt McGillivray of South Africa took honours in the Under 18 Division Sunday when the Junior International Shootout was held in marginal conditions at Dairy Beach in Durban.

In fact the visiting group of French juniors dominated the contest posting a total of twelve finalists to South Africa’s two, underlining why they finished second in the 2014 ISA World Junior Championships in Ecuador.  
Current ISA World Under 16 champion Leo Paul Etienne won this division on Sunday with the winner of the recent Reunion Island Challenge, Mathis Crozon, taking second spot. Erwan Blouin and Gaizka Housset were third and fourth respectively in this all French final. The best placed South Africans were Sebastian Williams and Koby Oberholzer who both finished third in the semi finals.
Matt McGillivray took gold in the Under 18 Final ahead of SA Team reserve, Richard Kidd. Augustin Arrive and Erwan Blouin were third and fourth respectively. The strong French had three surfers each in the Under 18 and Under16 finals while South Africa had one surfer in the Under 16 final and KZN were represented in the other final.
Lisa Girardet took the honours in the Under 18 final and her team mate, Mahe Javegny, was runner up. Jade Mets of KZN came third and Juliette Brice of France was fourth. Brice then beat Girardet in the Under 16 final with Javegny taking third ahead of the current U15 SA Champion, Sophie Bell.
The contest was supported by the NLDTF (Lotto) and the South African Surfing Legends and was presented by Surfing South Africa. The KZN Surfriders Association were the event hosts.
U18 Boys
1.     Matt McGillivray – RSA
2.     Richard Kidd – RSA
3.     Augustin Arrive – FRA
4.     Erwan Blouin – FRA
U18 Girls
1.     Lisa Girardet – FRA
2.     Mahe Javegny – FRA
3.     Jade Mets – KZN
4.     Juliette Brice – FRA
U16 Boys
1.     Leo Paul Etienne – FRA
2.     Mathis Crozon – FRA
3.     Erwan Blouin – FRA
4.     Gaizka Housset – FRA
U16 Girls
1.     Juliette Brice – FRA
2.     Lisa Girardet – FRA
3.     Mahe Javegny – FRA
4.     Sophie Bell - RSA

Robin de Kock

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter