Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Great surf on Day 2 of South African Surfing Championships




South African Surfing Championships

Surfing South Africa
Long Beach, Kommetjie,Western Cape
25 – 27​ August, 2016

Perfect Long Beach conditions for Day Two of the South African Surfing Championship

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 26 August, 2016 - Surfers competing in the 2016 South African Surfing Championships were greeted with perfect conditions and ideal Long Beach surf on Day Two of the 51st edition of this premiere Surfing South Africa event.

High scores were the order of the day across the four divisions but once again it was five time SA Champion Nikita Robb (Buffalo City) who stole the show when she posted a perfect 10 point score in the quarter finals of the Women’s Division. Another standout on the day was Brandon Benjamin (Cape Town) whose 9 point ride in Round Three of the Men’s Division means he will be surfing in the quarter finals on the final day of the event.

After two days of top class surfing the Women’s semis see Robb being joined by defending champion Heather Clark (Ugu), Tarryn Chudleigh (Cape Town),2016 SA Team captain Faye Zoetmulder (Nelson Mandela Bay) her team mate Emma Smith and Tasha Mentasti (Eden).

The U20 Girls semi finalists are Teal Hogg (eThekweni),Danica Stockigt (Buffalo City),Chanelle Botha (Ugu),Natasha Van Greunen (Cape Winelands),Britney Linder (Nelson Mandela Bay) and Taghiti Gericke (Eden).

Benjamin’s fellow quarter finalists in the Men’s division are his Cape Town team mates Craig Johnson and Jarred Veldhuis, Greg Emslie and Wayne Monk (both Buffalo City), Wade Simkiss and Chris Frolich (both eThekweni), Geoff Greaves and JP Olivier (both Cape Winelands) Grant Beck and Jerry Van Wyk (both Nelson Mandela Bay) and Llewellyn Whittaker (Eden).

The U20 Boys quarter finals are made up of all four Cape Town team members, namely Jordy Maree, Ethan Fletcher,Dillon Fernandez and Ford Van Jaarsveldt plus Ntando Msibi and Richard Kidd (both eThekweni), Jordan Dalbock and Luke Malherbe (both Buffalo City), Alex Van Rijscwicjk and defending champion Joshe Faulkner (both Nelson Mandela Bay) and Cape Winelands duo, Tristan Lev and Adin Masencamp.

The balmy early spring weather is set to remain for the final day of competition but the Long Beach is expected to drop in size during the day. Only twenty heats remain in this year’s South African Championships which will come to a close with the four individual finals from midday until approximately 2pm. The award Ceremony will take place at Long Beach immediately after the Men’s Final.

Teams made up of Open Men and Women and U20 Boys and Girls representing defending champions eThekweni, hosts Cape Town, former champions Buffalo City and Nelson Mandela Bay,Ugu,2015 hosts uThungulu, Cape Winelands and Eden are competing for the Presidents Cup and individuals are surfing for medals and trophies in the four divisions.

The 51st South African Surfing Championships are supported by Sport and Recreation SA and hosted by Cape Town Surfriders.

South Africa Surfing Champs, Kommetjie, Surfing South Africa Long Beach, Western Cape
Robin de Kock

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter