Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Hawai'i's scholar athletes get aid in the name of Duke Kahanamoku



Surf Culture

Duke 125 Campaign Opens Doors for Hawai'i's Scholar Athletes

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 12 August, 2015 - Honolulu - Both on land and in water, Hawai'i's original ambassador of Aloha -- Duke Kahanamoku -- made waves across the globe. Marking his 125th birthday this year, the Outrigger Duke Kahanamoku Foundation is now making waves of opportunity for Hawai'i youth through the Duke 125 Campaign -- a targeted effort to raise funds for scholar athletes that perpetuate the spirit of Duke. 

Since its inception in 1986, the Outrigger Duke Kahanamoku Foundation has gifted more than $2.3 million dollars to scholar athletes and non-profit organizations in Hawai'i. This year alone the non-profit awarded a total of $178,250 to 29 grantees and 44 scholarships to student athletes from 34 different high schools across six Hawaiian Islands.

The community is invited to share its aloha and support by donating online at: or attending one of the upcoming events that benefit the Duke 125 campaign, including:

Aug. 8 - Nov. 2: Duke Exhibit at Bishop Museum
This unparalleled exhibit will showcase photographs, films, documents and artifacts telling the story of Duke's life from 1890 through 1968. Great for all ages, interactive elements will allow museum-goers to pose for photos as if they were with Duke, or to "surf" on a replica of Dukes famous board.

Aug. 22-30: Duke's Oceanfest in Waikiki
This week-long event is held each summer in honor of Hawaiian Duke Paoa Kahanamoku, who is remembered as the greatest waterman that ever lived. OceanFest features a variety of ocean sports that were close to Duke Kahanamoku's heart: longboard surfing, paddleboard racing, swimming, tandem surfing, surf polo, beach volleyball, and more!

Aug. 24: Waterman Hall of Fame Awards at Outrigger Canoe Club
The Hawai'i Waterman Hall of Fame was initiated in 2010 to create a lasting tribute to the Hawaiian Islands' water sports legacy and honor the achievements of Hawai'i's standout watermen and waterwomen. This year's inductees include: Joey Cabell, Duane DeSoto, Walter Guild and Soichi Sakamoto. A few of the past honorees include: Eddie Aikau, Fred Hemmings, Buffalo Keaulana, Rabbit Kekai, Nappy Napoleon, Rell Sunn and Nainoa Thompson. 

Monica Salter

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter