Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Heat draws announced for Billabong Rio Pro events

Billabong Rio Pro, Rio Women’s Pro, Billabong, ASP World Championship Tour, Rio de Janeiro, Barra da Tijuca, Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour
Rio's famous boardwalk © ASP/Cestari



Billabong Rio Pro & Rio Women’s Pro 
Presented by Billabong

ASP World Championship Tour Men's event
ASP World Championship Tour Women's event

Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
7 - 18 May 2014

Check the Live Action

Billabong Rio Pro events signal close of Aussie ASP leg

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 1 May, 2014 -  The Billabong Rio Pro and Rio Women’s Pro presented by Billabong, Stop No. 4 on the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour (WCT), begins in less than one week on Wednesday, May 7. With the Australian leg of professional surfing’s elite Tour now complete, the ASP World Title race is focused on Brazil as the world’s best surfers prepare to compete in the punchy beachbreaks of Rio de Janeiro’s Barra da Tijuca.

The fantastic city-center location offers a breathtaking backdrop to the fourth stop on the WCT. With beautiful people and surfing fanatics aplenty, the rich culture of Rio de Janeiro and spectacular natural setting make this a stop not to miss. The locals’ passion for surfing guarantees great crowds and a lively atmosphere for the ASP Top 34 and Top 17.

Brazil has played host to many ASP events over the past 30 years but 2011 saw the ASP World Championship Tour return to Rio for both the men and women. 11-time ASP World Champion Kelly Slater (USA) has won in Brazil three times, reigning three-time ASP World Champion and current ASP World No. 2 Mick Fanning was victorious in 2006 and 2007 and Jordy Smith (ZAF) is the defending event winner.

Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) posted a win here in 2012, reigning two-time ASP Women’s World Champion and current ASP World No. 1 Carissa Moore (HAW) won in 2011 and Tyler Wright (AUS), current ASP World No. 3, is the defending event winner.

The wildcards for the men’s event are Peterson Crisanto (Parana/BRA), selected by Billabong, and David do Carmo (São Paulo/BRA), 2013 Brazilian Professional Surfing Champion. The women’s wildcard is Silvana Lima (Ceará/BRA). They will compete alongside the ASP Top 34 and Top 17 respectively and complete the fields for the Billabong Rio Pro and the Rio Women’s Pro.

Kai Otton (AUS) has withdrawn from the event due to the birth of his first child. ASP replacement surfer Glenn Hall (IRL) will compete in his place. The Billabong Rio Pro and Rio Women’s Pro presented by Billabong will be held from Wednesday, May 7 to Sunday, May 18, 2014 and will be webcast LIVE via

Billabong Rio Pro Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Sebastian Zeitz (HAW), Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 2: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 4: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Glenn Hall (IRL)
Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Mitch Crews (AUS), Peterson Crisanto (BRA)
Heat 6: Mick Fanning (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA), David do Carmo (BRA)
Heat 7: Josh Kerr (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Dion Atkinson (AUS)
Heat 8: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 9: Julian Wilson (AUS), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Aritz Aranburu (ESP)
Heat 10: Nat Young (USA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 11: Michel Bourez (PYF), Owen Wright (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 12: John John Florence (HAW), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Matt Wilkinson 

Rio Women’s Pro Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Bianca Buitendag (ZAF), Malia Manuel (HAW), Alessa Quizon 
Heat 2: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Coco Ho (HAW), Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)
Heat 3: Carissa Moore (HAW), Pauline Ado (FRA), Silvana Lima (BRA)
Heat 4: Tyler Wright (AUS), Laura Enever (AUS), Alana Blanchard (HAW)
Heat 5: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Dimity Stoyle (AUS), Johanne Defay 
Heat 6: Courtney Conlogue (USA), Lakey Peterson (USA), Paige Hareb 

Dave Prodan

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter