Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



How many world champs are from the Gold Coast? Try 23

Joel Parkinson and Mick Fanning © Kirstin Scholtz



Surf Culture

Hollywood style Walk of Fame in the works for Gold Coast champs

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 25 February, 2015 - Gold Coast World Surfing Reserve Inc. would like to acknowledge the 23 Gold Coast & Tweed Coast based World Surfing Champions. Nowhere in the World, let alone in Australia, does a regional area command such an impressive list. 

It’s an achievement to be immensely proud of and already, excuse the pun, there are steps afoot to construct a Hollywood style Walk of Fame to commemorate our World Champs. The location is to be planned for the Southern End of the Gold Coast on the beach promenade at either Kirra or Snapper Rocks.

11 times World Champion Kelly Slater and World Master Gary Kong Elkerton are deemed to be honorary Gold Coasters. Kelly has been a Gold Coast ratepayer for the last 10 years and Kong has had his boards made on the Gold Coast over the last 30 years by Hot Stuff, Al Byrne and Mount Woodgee.

When you combine all the World titles that’s a staggering 47 Individual World Titles.

Here’s the staggering list in chronological order starting from our very first ever World Champion Phyllis O’Donnell who won the maiden Womens World title at Manly Beach in 1964 (the Womens final was held before the Mens won by Midget Farrelly of Dee Why) to our last crowned Womens WSL World Professional Longboards Chelsea Williams in December 2014

1. Phyllis O’Donnell 1964 first World Champion Womens.

2. Peter Townend 1976 first World Professional Mens.

3. Wayne Rabbit Bartholomew 1978 World Professional & 2004 ASP World Masters (2).

4. Ashley Humphreys 1988 World Lifesaving boardriding.

5. Andrew Mckinnon 1988 WISA Longboards.

6. Wayne Deane 1990 WISA Longboards.

7. Shane Bevan 1990 WISA Junior.

8. Grant Frost 1992 WISA Mens.

9. Dave Rastovich 1996 WISA Grommets.

10. Dean Morrison 1998 WISA Junior.

11. Mark Occhilupo 1999 ASP World Professional Mens.

12. Luke Munro 2000 WISA Grommets.

13. Clint Kimmins 2000 WISA Grommets.

14. Josh Kerr 2000 World Air.

15. Cheyne Horan 2002 ASP World Masters.

16. Mick Fanning 2007 -09 -13 ASP World Professional (3).

17. Stephanie Gilmore 2007- 08 – 09 - 10-12-14 ASP World Professional Womens & ISA World Juniors 2004-06 (8).

18. Chelsea Hodges 2007 ASP Womens & ISA World Womens 2008 (2).

19. Jack Freestone 2012 -13 ASP World Professional Junior (2).

20. Joel Parkinson 2012 ASP World Professional Mens – ASP World Junior 1999 (2).

21. Chelsea Williams 2014 WSL World Professional Longboard Womens.

When Gold Coast is endorsed as a World Surfing Reserve, (the date to be determined by the end of October when the World Executive meets to vote on the nomination), at the planned Dedication Ceremony all World Champs will be invited to attend and celebrate Queensland’s first truly protected surfing reserve possibly in 2016.

Andrew McKinnon

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter