Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Hurley SA Junior Champs launch at Jeffreys Bay

Jordy Maree © Alan van Gysen




2014 Hurley SA Junior Champs

Surfing South Africa (SSA)
Lower Point, Jeffreys Bay South Africa
8 - 12 October, 2014 

Jeffreys Bay provides clean conditions for Day 1

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 8 October, 2014 - The Lower Point at Jeffreys Bay provided clean contestable conditions for the opening day of the 2014 Hurley SA Junior Champs where the country’s top young surfers will be competing for sought after national team and individual titles.

The premier junior event on the South African surfing calendar runs from 8 to 12 October at the Mecca of South African surfing and will crown champions in age divisions including Under 13, U15 and U17 for Boys and Girls. The provincial team accumulating the highest points total clinches the coveted Freedom Cup.
The small waves favoured the light-footed competitors and with hordes of surfers and their supporters lining the rocky point and overlooking dunes, J-Bay local and Eastern Province top seed Matt McGillivray gave his teammates plenty of reason to cheer as he started the defence of his U17 Boys title by winning the first heat of the event.
McGillivray and heat runner-up Bevan Willis (KwaZulu-Natal Central) advanced directly to Round 3 of the division while third and fourth placed Rigter Markgraaff (Boland) and Brandon Lange (Southern KZN) will compete again in cutthroat 15 minute Round 2 heats tomorrow.
Eking every ounce of energy out of the waves, the provincial top seeds held sway in most heats with Donovan Wichmann from defending Freedom Cup holders Western Province, Shane Sykes (KZNC), Michael Monk (Border) and Matthew Sills (SKZN) all winning their respective match-ups.
The U15 Boys heats followed a similar pattern with Sebastian Williams from hosts Eastern Province, Jake Elkington (WP), Adin Masencamp (Boland), Koby Oberholzer (KZNC) and Luke Malherbe (Border) all finishing on top in their clashes.
Defending U15 Boys champ Ethan Fletcher (WP) posted some of the highest scores of the day while Paul Sampson from the SA Development Academy caused the biggest upset by racking up a comprehensive heat win and booking a berth in Round 3.
The enthusiasm on the beach was electric as the various teams loudly supported their teammates in the surf. KwaZulu-Natal Central have included Zulu warrior Bonginkosi Ntuli in their team and his energetic performances in full regalia on the beach every time a KZNC surfer was competing will certainly contribute towards the team’s chances of capturing the coveted Skullcandy Team Spirit Award.
In addition to the prestige of securing a place in South African surfing history, surfers will also be competing for several special awards totalling more than R12 000. These include the Red Bull Best Air, Oakley Highest Heat Score, Island Tribe Best Tube, Skullcandy Team Spirit Award and two surfboards shaped by Matt Biolos from Mayhem.
All Aboard Travel will be giving one lucky surfer a flight to join a photo-shoot surf trip with Zigzag Surf Mag that will see them featured in one of the magazine’s photo editorials. As part of Surfing South Africa’s commitment to transformation, the South African Development Academy team is participating thanks to a grant from Sport and Recreation South Africa.
The Hurley SA Junior Champs is sanctioned by Surfing South Africa (SSA) which is recognised by the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and Sport and Recreation SA as the national governing body for the sport. SSA is a member of the International Surfing Association (ISA), the world’s governing body for surfing.
The 2014 Hurley SA Junior Champs is supported by Red Bull, Vans, Skullcandy, Neff, Island Tribe, Oakley, All Aboard Travel, Christian Surfers, Zigzag, Supertubes Foundation and Surfing South Africa.

Paul Botha

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter