Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Indonesia's surf version of the Academy Awards names winners

Luna Maya and Raditya Rondi © Andryz



ASC Awards

Raditya Rondi and Rina Kitazawa take top honors in Bali

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 16 November, 2015 - Kuta-Bali:  On Saturday night November 14th at the Skai Beach Club in the Padma Resort Bali, the 5th annual Asian Surfing Championship Awards Party saw celebrity guest Luna Maya attending the event together with some 150 plus members of the local and international surfing community to celebrate the amazing achievements of Asia’s surfing champions.

The evening’s agenda included a multicourse sit down dinner with drinks provided by sponsors Skai Beach Club, Albens Cider, Sailor Jerry, and Coca-Cola Amatil Indonesia, an exciting video recap of the 2015 ASC Tour season by Sean Gilhooley, speeches by ASC Director Tipi Jabrik and ASC GM Tim Hain, trophy presentations to the winners by ASC judges Arya Subyakto and Made Sadiartha, Indonesia’s most famous pro surfer Rizal Tanjung, ASC GM Tim Hain, and actress/model/entrepreneur Luna Maya, all announced by MC and Bali surfing ambassador Tai “Buddha” Graham.

“It was great to be here and celebrate with Asian’s surfing champions, and to congratulate them on their achievements,” said Luna.  “I grew up here in Bali and both my brothers are surfers so I was at the beach a lot as a kid, so I really wanted to come and support this event.  It’s really amazing to see how surfing has progressed and what the ASC has accomplished to grow professional surfing here in Indonesia and around Asia.  Keep up the good work guys, congratulations to the ASC and to all the surfers!”

ASC General Manager Tim Hain & Rina Kitazawa © Andryz


Actress, model, singer, producer-director, and entrepreneur, Luna was born and raised in Bali, and is arguably one of Indonesia’s most well known celebrities, with 6.5 million followers on Instagram alone. Her brother Tipi Jabrik is the driving force who developed  the Indonesian Surfing Championships starting in 2004, which then progressed into the Asian Surfing Championships starting in 2010.

In his speech to the audience, Jabrik said, “I really want to thank all our supporters for making the ASC what it is today, from the surf brands and event owners and organizers, the surfers themselves, the media, our judging crew, tonight’s event sponsors like the Skai Beach Club, Albens, Sailor Jerry, Chilli Surfboards, and of course the ASC staff and my sister Luna.  We’re already planning for a great 2016, with some great events on the schedule, so really looking forward to that already.”  

ASC General Manager Tim Hain was next on the microphone, first complimenting Sean Gilhooley and Made Ropik on a sensational video recap of the year, then thanking all the ASC team, the judges, the Bali surfing legends, the event sponsors and organizers and ASC Director Tipi Jabrik for the inspiration, help and support, before announcing the 2016 ASC schedule of 10 events around Asia that include Indonesia, India, Dubai, the Maldives, Philippines, and Taiwan, as well as the upcoming Asia Cup in Hainan Island, China.  

Raju Sena © Andryz


Then it was on to the awarding.

Taking his 4th ASC Men’s Open win this year was Kuta’s Raditya Rondi, who lost the title last year to Dede Suryana (West Java) but snatched it back in the final event of the season last week on the island of Rote in an exciting conclusion to the year.  From the podium Raditya thanked his sponsor Billabong and his family and friends for all their support, and was visibly delighted to be presented his 2015 trophy by the beautiful and talented Luna Maya. 

 “I’m so happy to get the championship back again,” said Rondi.  “It was really a tough battle with Dede this year and it came down to the last event, and I’m so lucky I could win.  I really thank the ASC for having such a great tour so I can travel and compete in all these treat places and become a champion, and my sponsor and family for supporting me,” he added.

Rina Kitazawa from Japan took her second ASC Women’s title, after losing it to Indonesia’s Yasnyiar “Bonne” Gea last year.  In her acceptance speech she thanked the ASC and said she couldn’t wait until next year to get another championship title.

The “Prince of Padma” Raju Sena claimed his 3rd ASC Junior championship and was presented his trophy by Rizal Tanjung, who is also Raju’s sponsor.  Rizal told he audience how gratified he was to see how many young surfers were coming up and surfing so well now, and compared it with when he was growing up.  “We didn’t have much support and equipment when I was growing up surfing here in Bali, so now it’s great to be able to support these kids and see how much they are ripping.” he said.

Cinta Hansel, daughter of surfboard shaper Bruce Hansel, puts another ASC Junior girls trophy on her mantel, after being the inaugural Junior girl champion last year.  She thanked her father and the ASC in her acceptance speech.

Both ASC Juniors champions will receive custom made surfboard from Chilli Surfboards, thanks to Bryce Williams.



2015 ASC Champions:

Men’s Open Division:  Raditya Rondi (Kuta, Bali)

Women’s Division:  Rina Kitazawa (Japan)

Junior Boys Division: Raju Sena (Legian, Bali)

Junior Girls Division:  Cinta Hansel (Ungasan, Bali)


Tim Hain

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter