Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Jamaica receives most ISA scholarships for the year


Team Updates

Of 27 ISA scholarships, four go to Jamaican surfers

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 31 August, 2012 : - - Four young Jamaican surfers have been successful in their applications for International Surfing Association (ISA) sponsored scholarships. The annual program rewards surfers less than 18 years of age with a US$1000.00 cash scholarship for their behavior and attitude, academic dedication and surfing potential.

Of the 27 scholarships awarded this year Jamaican Juniors have earned four making Jamaica the member nation to receive the most 2012 scholarships. The successful applicants from Jamaica were Javaun Brown from Boston Bay in Portland and Paswayne Douglas, Armani Green and Nick Robinson from Bull Bay in Saint Andrew.

I am very happy about the scholarships…” said Jamaica Surfing Association (JSA) President Anthony “Billy” Wilmot when asked about the achievement. “What makes it even nicer is that the kids that were selected are the ones who will benefit the most from the funds.” Mr. Wilmot went on to describe the selection process. “The kids are selected based on their attitude and behavior first of all. Next we look into their scholastic performance, their economic situation and finally their surfing potential. The concept is not to just reward the kids who are the best surfers but to encourage positive values in the children who are a part of our local surf community.”

Jamaica has been making waves in the international surfing community over the past decade with local surfers picking up international brand sponsorship and Jamaica’s surf and surfers being featured in numerous magazines and surf travel documentaries. The local annual Pro surf contest the “Makka Pro” has also put Jamaica on the surf map and in the international surf contest calendar.

Full List of Recipients  
Liam Taylor, Australia
Caelum Blandford, Barbados
Danilo Cerda, Chile
Javiera Veliz, Chile
Esteban Fernandez Matamoros, Costa Rica
Jyothi M. Bangera, India
Samuel Marabici, Italy
Javan Brown, Jamaica
Nick Robinson, Jamaica
Paswayne Douglas, Jamaica
Armani Green, Jamaica
Carlos Dominguez Cervantes, Mexico
Philip Seidler, Namibia
Dayna Story, New Zealand
Waretini Wano, New Zealand
Luis Angel Arroyo, Panama
Monica Munn, Panama
Estephani Tello, Peru
Nikita Avdeev, Russia
Simo Mkhize, South Africa
Brandon Benjamin, South Africa
Colby Stanley, Spain
Melodie Bohny Traynor, Spain
Elton John, Trinidad & Tobago
Jyiell Lewis, Trinidad & Tobago
Francisco Morosini, Uruguay
Elenna Erkeneff, USA

Source: Jamaica Surfing Association

Author: Billy Wilmot /

Tags: Jamaica Surfing Association, Billy Wilmot, JSA, NGO, ISA Scholarships

Jamaica Updates - Surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter