Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Joey Sear's powerful forehand attack earns him BCU win

Open Men's champ Joey Sear © Ethan Smith / Surfing NSW




BCU Australian Surf Festival

Surfing Australia
Gallows Beach Coffs Harbour, New South Wales
31 July - 17 August 2015

Sear, Callaghan, Turner winners in today's divisions

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 2 August, 2015 - Gallows Beach Coffs Harbour - The bcu Australian Surf Festival crowned its first batch of champions today with three NSW shortboarders claiming coveted Australian Titles.

Joey Sear (Cronulla, NSW) synced his powerful forehand repertoire with the tricky lineup, taking a win in the Open Mens division. The Cronulla goofy-footer smashed out a series of massive hooks to post a total of 15.90 (out of a possible 20 points) to claim the prestigious title.

In an action packed final, all surfers managed to lock in heat totals in excess of 12.00 points. Fellow finalists Samba Mann (Coolangatta, Qld), Dale Lovelock (Warana, Qld) and former Australian champion Russ Molony (North Entrance, NSW) all showed moments of brilliance and remained within striking distance of the win, but when the final hooter sounded it was Sear who sealed the deal. All four finalists have booked their spot in the upcoming ISA World Surfing Games next year.

“I’ve been wanting to win an Aussie Title for so long now,” said Sear. “I trained really hard for this event and stayed off the alcohol in preparation for it, so to take it out is the best win of my life. I got to the final in 2012 and finished third to Russ, so to go two positions further feels incredible. The whole vibe of the final was awesome, everyone was calm and just took turns catching waves. It really adds to the good feeling when it’s like that.”

2014 Under-16 Australian Junior Champion Macy Callaghan (Avoca, NSW) added another accomplishment to her portfolio taking out the Open Womens division. The Central Coast surfer overcame some solid surfing from former WSL World Championship Tour surfer Claire Bevilacqua (Yallingup, WA) with a heat total of 14.25 and as a result cemented her spot into next year’s ISA World Surfing Games.

“It’s the best feeling to make a final with these guys as they’re some of Australia’s best,” said Callaghan. “I knew all these girls would have been really hard to beat, so I had to give it everything I could. I’m just so pumped to have won titles in the juniors and opens.”

Current NSW Champion, Nichola Turner (Cronulla, NSW) managed to find many diamonds in the rough, taking out the Over-35 Womens final. The Cronulla natural-footer linked together a chain of solid turns to post a respectable heat total of 9.75, which gave her the edge over fellow finalists, Sue Levett (Manly, NSW), Cheryl Peat (Seaford, NSW) and Sandra English (Budgewoi, NSW). The win has solidified Turner’s position in the upcoming ISA World Masters.

“I’m so lucky,” said Turner. “This was my next goal after winning state, so I’m over the moon to get the win. All these other women inspire me to surf better, so to get a win feels incredible.”

Claire Bevilacqua (Yallingup, WA) was awarded the bcu money turn for a series of giant backside turns in the quarterfinals of the Open Women. As a result, Bevilacqua was awarded a $100 bank account courtesy of bcu.

bcu will be providing a $100 bank account for the #bcumoneyturn, which will be awarded daily to the surfer who executes the biggest turn as determined by the head judge.

- Opening Ceremony – July 31
- Australian Surfmasters Titles – August 1-5
- Australian Longboard Titles – August 5-13
- Australian Logger Titles – August 6-9
- Australian Bodyboard Titles – August 13-17

The 2015 bcu Australian Surf Festival is proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW. The event is also proudly supported by bcu, Coffs Harbour City Council, Coffs Coast Tourism, The Hoey Moey, Nikon, Toyota, Pacific Longboarder, NBN, Australian Institute of Sport,, Surfing Australia and Surfing NSW.


Open Men

1 – Joey Sear (Cronulla, NSW)

2 – Samba Mann (Coolangatta, Qld)

3 – Dale Lovelock (Warana, Qld)

4 – Russ Molony (North Entrance, NSW)

Open Women

1 – Macy Callaghan (Avoca, NSW)

2 – Claire Bevilacqua (Yallingup, WA)

3 – Zahli Kelly (Wooloowin, Qld)

4 – Jess Grimwood (Bateau Bay, NSW)

Over-35 Women

1 – Nicola Turner (Cronulla, NSW)

2 – Sue Levett (Manly, NSW)

3 – Cheryl Peat (Seaford, SA)

4 – Sandra English (Budgewoi, NSW)

Ethan Smith

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter