Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Juniors impressive at Barbados Surfer of the Year Event


Surfer of the Year Event # 4

Barbados Surfing Association
Sand Bank, Cattlewash Barbados
2 September 2006

Juniors Impressive at Fourth Surfer of the Year Event in Barbados

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 6 September, 2006 : - - The five members of the National Junior Surf Team, Bruce Mackie, Dane Tuach, Lewis St. John, Ametza Nicholls and Chelsea Tuach, who participated in the ISA World Junior Surfing Championships in Brazil in May, once again performed creditably at the Fourth Surfer of the Year event held last Saturday at Sand Bank, Cattlewash.

Conditions were fair with waves in the 3 - 5 ft range allowing the young, talented surfers to showcase their skill. In the Under-18 Boys Division, Lewis St.John was first, Dane Tuach second, Stefan Corbin third and Bruce Mackie fourth. In the Ladies Open Division, Ametza Nicholls took top honours, while Chelsea Tuach, the youngest female competitor, placed second. Third was Chelsea Roett, while Alix Fitzwilliam was fourth.

In the Open Mens Division, Alan Burke took top honours, while Lewis St. John was second, Bruce Mackie third and another Junior surfer, Niall Thomas was fourth.

In the Under 12 Girls Division, Chelsea Roett placed first, Chelsea Tuach was second, Kelsey Duncan third and Jade Niccolls was fourth. The Boys Under 12 Division was won by Daniel Edghill, Gavin Fernandes and Joshua Burke placed second and third respectively, while seven-year-old Evan Moll was fourth.

The final event in the Surfer of the Year series will be held on September 30th at the Soup Bowl, Bathsheba.

Read the full article at the Barbados

More USA/Cen. Amer. surfing news available here
Check the latest East Coast Surf Reports and Forecasts

New! Get the latest news with Surfersvillage News-Alerts

Source: Barbados

Contests - Surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter