Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Lay Day called in Fiji with all eyes on Friday swell pulse




Fiji Pro

Samsung Galaxy WSL Championship Tour Men's Event
Cloudbreak, Restaurants Tavarua Fiji
7 - 19 June 2015

Inconsistent 2' surf prompts another Lay Day in Fiji

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 9 June, 2015 - Tavarua, Fiji - Another lay day has been called at the Fiji Pro today, stop No. 5 on the 2015 Samsung Galaxy WSL Championship Tour, with only small and inconsistent surf on offer at Cloudbreak and a projected swell due to arrive later this week.

“Small surf on offer this morning so we've called a lay day for competition,” Kieren Perrow, WSL Commissioner, said. “We anticipate conditions to improve over the coming days and will return tomorrow morning to reassess.” 

When competition commences, up first will be Kelly Slater (USA) against Kolohe Andino (USA) and Alejo Muniz (BRA) in the opening heat of Round 1. Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning to assess conditions and make the next call.  

Surfline, official forecaster for the WSL, are calling for: Small SW swell gradually builds on Wednesday and fills in further to fun size levels Thursday. A medium to fairly solid SW swell will build through Friday, continue Saturday and looks likely to get reinforcements on Sunday. This will set up overhead surf at Cloudbreak, with sets up to double overhead (10’+ faces) at times. There is potential for a similar size to slightly larger SSW swell for Mon/Tue. 
Fiji Pro Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Kelly Slater (USA), Kolohe Andino (USA), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS), Matt Banting (AUS), Aritz Aranburu (ESP)
Heat 3: Josh Kerr (AUS), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Jay Davies (AUS)
Heat 4: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Dane Reynolds (USA)
Heat 5: Mick Fanning (AUS), Ricardo Christie (NZL), Aca Ravulo (FJI)
Heat 6: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Kai Otton (AUS), Inia Nakalevu (FJI)
Heat 7: Gabirel Medina (BRA), Jeremy Flores (FRA), C.J. Hobgood (USA)
Heat 8: Owen Wright (AUS), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 9: Nat Young (USA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Glenn Hall (IRL)
Heat 10: Julian Wilson (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 11: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Keanu Asing (HAW)
Heat 12: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Italo Ferreira (BRA), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)


Dave Prodan

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter