Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Layne Beachley brings home the gold

Layne Beachley © ISA/Tweddle

Team Updates

International Surfing Association
Montañita, Ecuador
6 - 14 April 2013

Live Coverage | Results/Photos/Videos etc

Layne Beachley wins ISA Masters title for TravelSIM Team Australia

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 15 April, 2013 : - - Layne Beachley has won the Women’s Masters title at the ISA World Masters Surfing Championship in Ecuador while TravelSIM Team Australian finished fifth in the overall teams’ result. Held at Montanita from 6th-14th April, the championships attract 150 surfers 35-years and older from more than 20 nations competing in the Masters (Over 35), Grand Masters (Over 40), Kahuna (Over 45) and Grand Kahuna (Over 50) divisions.

Beachley reclaimed the Over 35 title she won in 2011 after missing last year’s event. In a tight final, Beachley (13.76) just edged South Africa’s Heather Clark (13.67) in second with Andrea Lopez (BRA, 12.96) and Rochelle Ballard (HAW, 11.60) in third and fourth. Beachley opened with an 8.53 to stay in front for much of the heat with Clark needing a 6.27 to take the lead. With under a minute remaining, Clark made a final attempt to snatch the lead but fell agonisingly short scoring a 6.17.

In the other divisions, the champions were Greg Emslie (ZAF, Over 35), Sunny Garcia (HAW, Over 40), Mike Latronic (HAW, Over 45) and Chris Knutsen (ZAF, Over 50). Garcia also contested the Over 35 final and finished fourth.

TravelSIM Team Australia earlier won the Aloha Cup relay event ahead of Venezuela and Brazil. In the overall teams’ result, TravelSIM Team Australia finished behind champions Hawaii, South Africa, USA and Brazil. Surfing Australia would like to recognise the Australian Sports Commission (ASC), TravelSIM and Suncorp for their continuing support of the Team Australia Program.

TravelSIM Team Australia
Men's Masters (Over 35)
Jake Spooner (Bulli, NSW)
Matt Clark (Wurtulla, QLD)
Men's Grand Masters (Over 40)
Glen Pringle (Cronulla, NSW)
Scott Schindler (Sawtell, NSW)
Men's Kahunas (Over 45)
Terry Landsberg (Currimundi, QLD)
Glen Valaire (Swansea, NSW)
Men's Grand Kahunas (Over 50)
Charlie O’Sullivan (Woolgoolga, NSW)
Women's Masters (Over 35)
Layne Beachley (Freshwater, NSW)

Previous reports:
# 1 : Aussies led by in-form Layne Beachley
# 2 : Team Australia marches on at ISA Masters
# 3 : Team Australia plows on at ISA Masters

# 4 : Team Australia eyes ISA Masters final

Source: Surfing Australia

Author: Tim Brimblecombe

Tags: International Surfing Association, Masters, Australia

Team: Surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter