Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



'Nooit okes' - South African Surfing Awards to launch

Jordy Smith © ZigZag



2012 South African Surfing Awards, presented by Zigzag roll this June

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 7 May, 2012 : - - The 2012 South African Surfing Awards, presented by Zigzag, will be held on 29 June at the Wavehouse in Umhlanga, and is set to be a riotous affair with top comedian Nic Rabinowitz headlining the show as MC. “Nooit okes, I'm totally stoked about hosting the awards,” said Rabinowitz on being invited as MC. “I've already written a few's one: Buddhist surfers never wear a leash. That's cause they're unattached."

Rabinowitz describes himself as ‘somewhat obsessed’ with surfing, so he will be in good company: the awards looks to recognise the best of the best in South African surfing over the past year, as well as to pay homage to the rich local culture and heritage that has shaped the sport.

All eyes will no doubt be on the coveted Surfer of the Year award, which looks to recognise the surfer who laid it all on the line and blew everyone away with their performance in 2011. Jordy Smith, Travis Logie, Twiggy Baker and a number of other surfers will be vying for the coveted title. Other top awards include the junior Blowing Up Performer award, Contribution to Surfing, and the Best Team award.

Another major highlight of the evening is the induction into the Hall of Fame, an honour reserved for South African surfing legends and pioneers who attend the evening in force. “We’re exceptionally proud to be custodians of this special evening for South African surfing,” said Zigzag editor, Will Bendix. “The pros, legends, administrators and everyone who attends always make this a landmark occasion. And having Nic in the mix will make it even more entertaining.”

As Rabinowitz says, “Pull in... It's going to be a barrel of laughs.”

Date: Friday 29 June
Time: 18:30 for 19:00, start time is 19:30
Dress code: smart casual
New Venue: Wavehouse, Gateway
POI: Nik Rabinowitz as MC.
Tickets on sale through Computicket @ R275 a pop

The South African Surfing Awards is proudly presented by Zigzag in association with Paarl Media KZN, Red Bull and Buchulife.


More African News | Receive News-Alerts | Videos SV TV

Source: Olivia Jones

Author: Lisa Wust

Tags: South Africa, Team, Awards, Jordy Smith, Nic Rabinowitz

Awards: Surfersvillage



Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter