Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



North Shelly Boardriders win Boardriders Battle at Narrabeen





Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle

Surfing Australia
Narrabeen, New South Wales Australia
14 November 2015

Race to find Australia's best club heats up in New South Wales

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 14 November, 2015 - North Narrabeen - The 2015 Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle Series III NSW Central state round faced a day of challenging two-foot conditions as nine of NSW’s best boardriding clubs fought to earn their position in the National Final in January.

In a similar fashion to the Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle at Yamba, the leaderboard all came down to the finals of the Teams division with Long Reef, NASA (North Avalon), North Shelly and Merewether fighting tooth and nail to bag themselves a title. However, thanks to a solid finish in the Teams division, North Shelly was able to take the overall title and earn their spot alongside Long Reef who claimed the runner-up position.

Team finalists North Avalon and Merewether fought to the death in the blue-ribbon final, but ultimately fell short and were bumped down the overall leaderboard, with NASA finishing in third and Merewether finishing in fifth. 

“That was a nail-biter of a finish,” said North Shelly Boardriders power surfer Russ Molony. “The waves were difficult out there, but the team managed to find some gems in the final and pulled it off. North Shelly has never gone too well in a Boardriders Battle event, so we’re all proud and over the moon that we’ve made it to the National Final in Cronulla. I’m sure the whole club will be there to cheer us on.”

The Milwaukee Heavy Duty Hack award was presented to Chris Salisbury (NASA) for his solid performance in the semi final of the Teams. Salisbury locked in a 9.33 and a 9.67 over the course of his semi-final campaign.

Participating clubs included: Avoca, Long Reef, North Shelly, North Narrabeen, North Steyne, NASA (North Avalon), Queenscliff, Freshwater and Merewether.

The main base for event three of the Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle Series III was North Narrabeen.

The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle Series III is the country’s biggest grassroots boardriders event series with $110,000 in prize money.

It will involve more than 60 of Australia’s best boardriders clubs in eight State qualifying rounds starting in September and culminate in a two-day, National Final for 20 clubs on the Australia Day Long Weekend on 23-24 January, 2016 at Cronulla in Sydney.

The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle is proudly supported by naming rights partner Original Source and major support partners in Toyota, Nikon, Oakley, Sutherland Shire Council, the World Surf League, XXXX Summer Bright Lager, DrinkWise, Milwaukee, FCS, Surfing Life, Fox Sports, Destination NSW and Boost Mobile.

The series is officially sanctioned by the World Surf League, which allows Australian WSL World Championship Tour surfers (men and women) the opportunity to represent their local boardriders club at respective State qualifying events and the National Final.

In total $110,000 is up for grabs across the entire National Series including the National Final. There is $29,000 available across the eight State qualifying events, while $81,000 will be on offer at the National Final. The winning boardriders club will receive $20,000, while $36,000 will be split between the clubs finishing second to 20th.

Each club team will include one junior (Under 18) surfer, four Open age surfers, and one over 35 surfers. Each team must include one female surfer.

An exciting event format will see club teams battle it out in a Women’s division, five-person Teams’ division and a Skins competition.  The National Final will include a lucrative, winner-take-all Skins format across 12 heats with a $1000 jackpot in each heat. For the first time this year, the top four clubs following the Skins, Women’s and Teams events will contest a Grand

Final involving a one-hour heat similar to the Teams relay format to decide the 2016 Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle champion.

The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle also includes a $61,000 Monster Raffle giveaway with one lucky ticket holder to drive away in a new Toyota RAV4 valued at $55,000. Other prize packs will be provided by Milwaukee, Original Source, Oakley, FCS, Nikon and Boost Mobile. The Monster Raffle is open to all Surfing Australia affiliated boardriders clubs with proceeds returning to the boardriders club community.



1 – North Shelly
2 – Long Reef
3 – NASA (North Avalon)
4 – Avoca
5 – Merewether
6 – North Narrabeen
7 – North Steyne
8 – Freshwater
9 - Queenscliff

The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle Schedule:

EVENT 1 - Scamander, TAS - September 19, 2015

EVENT 2 - Fleurieu Peninsula, SA - October 10, 2015

EVENT 3 - NSW Nth - Yamba, NSW - October 31, 2015

EVENT 4 - Gold Coast, QLD - November 7, 2015

EVENT 5 - NSW Central - North Narrabeen, NSW - November 14, 2015

EVENT 6 - Trigg, WA - November 21, 2015

EVENT 7 - Phillip Island, VIC - December 12, 2015

EVENT 8 - NSW Sth - Kiama, NSW - January 9, 2016

NATIONAL FINAL:  Cronulla, NSW - January 23 - 24, 2016

Boardrider Battle, Surf Clubs, Narrabeen, North Shelly, New South Wales
Ethan Smith

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter