Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



North swell & inconsistent surf puts Pipeline on hold

Dusty Payne © ASP/Cestari






Billabong Pipe Masters

ASP Men's World Tour Event
Banzai Pipeline, Oahu Hawaii
8 - 20 December 2014

Check the Live Action

Dusty Payne will take on Gabriel Medina when action resumes

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 15 December, 2014 - Banzai Pipeline - A lay day has been called at the Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons and there will be no competition today. "The swell really went North overnight and that North direction is not great," Kieren Perrow, ASP Commissioner, said. "There's still some size in it but the direction is wrong so we are off for the day. We won't be running any heats and we'll come back tomorrow morning. We are monitoring a pretty decent swell for the last few days of the waiting period." 

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning to assess conditions and make the next call.

The three remaining World Title contenders Gabriel Medina (BRA), Mick Fanning (AUS), and Kelly Slater (USA) will all surf in elimination Round 3 when competition resumes. Medina will take on Vans Triple Crown of Surfing ratings leader Dusty Payne (HAW), Fanning faces Jeremy Flores (FRA) and Slater will match-up against Alejo Muniz (BRA).

Surfline, official forecaster for the Billabong Pipe Masters, are calling for: The current NW/NNW swell will shift more to the NNW/N on Monday and trend down as strong trades continue. Look for smaller leftovers from the N on Tuesday as trades also begin to ease. A small WNW swell is on track for Wednesday and Thursday morning, with a moderate NW swell looking likely for Thursday afternoon and Friday. Trades will also ease for the middle to second half of the upcoming week. 

Billabong Pipe Masters Round 3 Match-Ups (1st to R4, 2nd = 13th):
Heat 1: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 2: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 3: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 4: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 5: Miguel Pupo (BRA) vs. Filipe Toledo (BRA)
Heat 6: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Dusty Payne (HAW) 
Heat 7: Kolohe Andino (HAW) vs. Julian Wilson (AUS)
Heat 8: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Heat 9: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Jeremy Flores (FRA)
Heat 10: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Sebastien Zietz (HAW)
Heat 11: Nat Young (USA) vs. Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 12: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)

Dave Prodan

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter