Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Pumping waves Day 1 of the NRMA NSW Schools Titles

Ross Jeffrey © Smith/SNSW




NRMA NSW Schools Titles

Surfing New South Wales
Middle Rock Beach, Lake Cathie NSW
12 - 16 July 2015

State juniors continue momentum at NRMA NSW Schools Titles

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 15 July, 2015 - The NRMA NSW Schools Titles got underway today in clean and punchy three-foot peaks at Middle Rock Beach.

Ben Hucker (Long Jetty – Entrance High School) and Fraser Dovell (Avalon – Knox Grammar) were dual standouts in Senior Boys (Under-19) posting heat totals in excess of 16.5 points (out of a possible 20 points). As a result, both surfers will bypass the requalification rounds and move straight into the quarterfinals tomorrow.

Other Senior Boys heat winners included: Zac Condon (Lennox Head – Woodlawn), Marlon Newling (Avalon – Barranjoey High), Luke Condon (Lennox Head – Woodlawn) and Zac Wightman (Lennox Head – Xavier College).

Kirra-Belle Olsson (Avoca – Kincumber High) picked up where she left off yesterday, posting a massive 9.17 wave score (out of a possible ten points) in the Junior Girls (Under-16). The 2015 NRMA NSW State Title Under-16 Champion took the win ahead of Tru Starling (Collaroy – The Pittwater House), Charli Allport (Long Jetty – St. Peters Catholic College) and Summer Simon (Holy Spirit College) who took out second, third and fourth respectively.

Other Junior Girls winners included: Macy Callaghan (Avoca – Kincumber High), Sophia Fulton (Cabarita – SXDE), Bodhi Leigh-Jones (Avalon – Mater Maria Catholic College), Sienna Coulter (Balgowlah – Queenwood) and Kiara Meredith (Barrack Heights – Warilla High School).

2015 NRMA NSW Under-18 Girls Champion Rubie Reents (Narrawallee – Ulladulla High School) got within arms reach of a perfect ten-point ride, posting a 9.93 wave score. Consequently, all other heat surfers were left chasing two-wave combinations of scores to topple Reents from the lead.

Jacinta Greenup (Cabarita – Kingscliff High School), Danielle Hancock (Nords Wharf – Swansea High School), Chelsea Green (Taree – St. Clares High School), and Billie Melinz (Coalcliff – Bulli High School) all posted heat wins in the Senior Girls. 

The NRMA NSW Schools Titles will continue tomorrow. 2015 is the fifth year Surfing NSW will combine the NSW School Surfing Titles into the event.

Over 350 competitors will partake in the NRMA NSW Schools Titles  and the NRMA NSW Junior State Titles as they vie for a NSW Junior Title and in turn, earn their position into the upcoming 2015 Surf Dive N Ski Australian Junior Surfing Titles, which will take place on Stradbroke Island from November 28 – December 5.

Supporting partner Unleashed Travel will be giving away one free return trip to Fiji for the person who posts the highest wave score of the NRMA NSW Schools Titles. 

The daily schedule and location will be confirmed via the event hotline at 6:45am each day. The event hotline is 0458 247 212.e 2015 NRMA NSW Junior State School Titles is proudly sponsored by NRMA, Mazda, Port Macquarie - Hastings Council, Port Macquarie Tourism, Unleashed Travel, NBN, Australian Skin Cancer Clinics, HIF, Ohana Ocean Athletics, Carve, Vertra, Coastalwatch, Doppio or Nothing, Port News and Surfing NSW.

Ethan Smith

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter