Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Qualifying events narrow WA school titles field



SunSmart School Surfing Titles

Surfing Western Australia
Trigg Beach, Western Australia
22 August 2014

SunSmart School Surfing Titles State Final Set To Rock Trigg Beach

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 20 August, 2014 - The best surfing schools from across WA are set to take over Trigg Beach this Friday for the State Final of the 2014 SunSmart WA School Surfing Titles. 

After an exciting two weeks which included ten qualification events held in six separate locations, a total of 26 regional and metropolitan high schools from Kalbarri in the north to Denmark in the south will converge on Trigg Beach to decide who will be crowned WA’s Champion Surfing School for 2014.

Arguably Surfing WA’s largest participation based event of the year, the SunSmart School Surfing Titles has seen over 50 high schools nominate a total of 312 teams with over 750 students pulling on wetsuits in hopes of reaching Friday's State Final. In addition to this it is estimated that thousands of students statewide also took part in intra-school selection events for the opportunity to 'surf for their school'.

Whilst offering a truly unique opportunity for males and females, to surf and bodyboard with their peers in a safe, relaxed and fun environment, the SunSmart School Surfing Titles also provides a unique stepping stone for students to reach the pinnacle of the sport, the Australian Junior Surfing Titles which is set to be held in Yallingup in the first week of December.

For surfers, a win this Friday at the State Final will see them qualify as part of the WA Junior Surfing Team and compete against the best students from across the country whilst representing both their school and their state.

"The SunSmart School Surfing Titles epitomises Western Australia's junior development and competition pathway," said Surfing WA Events Manager Justin Majeks. "It's amazing that students can reach the highest level of competition on offer in Australia after first completing learn to surf courses through their school, competing at regional and metro events, then moving onto our State Final, with National Titles awaiting our winners"

Competition is set to be fierce with Margaret River Senior High School vying for a ninth consecutive Champion School victory. Whilst boasting some of the best junior talent in the state, including Jacob Willcox, Jed Mattinson, Bailee Hastie, Mia McCarthy, Annabelle Jones and Finn Haslau, they are set to face some stiff opposition from the best regional and metropolitan high schools who all performed exceptionally in the qualifying rounds.

Strong regional teams making the trip to Perth to challenge Margaret River SHS include; Denmark SHS, Kalbarri DHS, McKillop Catholic College, Geraldton Senior College, Georgina Molloy, and Mandurah Catholic College.

While metropolitan schools set to impress on home soil include; Carine SHS, Christchurch Grammar School, Mindarie Senior College, Newman College, St Stephens Duncraig, Prendiville Catholic College and St Mary's Anglican Girls School, who will all be out to do their best to topple some quality competition.

Over 130 surfers and bodyboarders are set to make the most of Friday's positive surf forecast, ensuring a high standard of competition across all divisions. Opening heats set to kick off at 8am sharp and finals wrapping up by approximately 4pm.

The WA School Surfing Titles are made possible thanks to Surfing WA's long-term partner SunSmart, who have been integral to the development of surfing programs and events throughout the state through the delivery of a key health message to Western Australian surfers.

If you missed the action from the 2013 SunSmart School Surfing Titles State Final at Trigg Beach, you can watch the highlight package on the Surfing WA Vimeo Channel

2014 SunSmart Regional Champion Schools:
Mid West Zone: Geraldton Senior College
Peel Zone: Mandurah Catholic College
Bunbury Zone: McKillop Catholic College
Great Southern Zone: Denmark SHS
South-West Zone: Margaret River SHS

2014 SunSmart Metropolitan Champion Schools:
Metro Zone 1: Newman College
Metro Zone 2: St Stephens Duncraig
Metro Zone 3: Christchurch Grammar School
Metro Zone 4: St Marks ACS
Metro Zone 5: Prendiville Catholic College

2014 SunSmart State Finalist:
Bunbury SHS
Carine SHS
CBC Fremantle
Christchurch Grammar School
Comet Bay College
Denmark SHS
Georgiana Molloy AS
Geraldton Senior College
Great Southern Grammar
John XXIII College
Kalbarri DHS
Mackillop Catholic College
Mandurah Catholic College
Margaret River SHS
Mindarie Senior College
Nagle Catholic College
Newman College
Prendiville Catholic College
Sacred Heart College
Shenton College
St Marks ACS
St Marys AGS
St Stephens Duncraig
Strathalbyn Christian College
Yanchep DHS
The 2014 SunSmart WA School Surfing Titles are proudly supported by Carve, Healthway, School Sport WA & Surfing WA.

Justin Majeks

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter