Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Vince Boulanger claims the Revolt Summer Series

Revolt Summer Series gets pumping swell for finals
Vince Boulanger (left) and JD Lewis © James Matthews



Revolt Summer Surf Series 

Pacific Beach, California USA
4 October, 2014 

Pumping surf highlights end to strong year for the Revolt Series

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 9 October, 2014 - Vince Boulanger claims the Pro Am Championship win at the 2014 Revolt Summer Surf Series (RSSS) presented by HOVEN Vision. While the rest of southern California roasted in triple digit heat - Savy San Diegans headed to the PB coastline to watch their favorite local amateur & pro surfers compete for thousands in cash, prizes & custom trophies. Competitors were challenged throughout the entire day with beautiful 3-5 ft. surf on the south side of the Crystal Pier. - and the scores reflected it. 

While Vince Boulanger got the overall championship, JD Lewis ended up with the daily win. Vince was surfing extremely well all day... just had a shocker of a final and got fourth. But still, a deserving overall champ! His consistent riding and high scores through out the entire series secured his quest for the coveted title - the champ took home an awesome custom trophy by 760 display, a Kicker Audio Sound system & season lift tickets to Bear Mtn & Snow Summit. JD Lewis took home an over-sized check worth $1,000.00, a custom trophy by MakerPlace & a grip of cool swag & gift certificates from our sponsors. 

Icaro Rodrigues, a stand out athlete - had the move of the contest for sure. Massive 'Slob Air' in round 1. He brings it and can pull airs with his eyes closed. Icaro won the expression session as well, with a 'Superman' air that had the entire beach on their feet cheering. Kevin Shulz came up short in the Semi’s but was another stand out. Smooth style and massive punts.

Local longboarders braved some epic surf & showed their ability to adapt in challenging conditions, with Chuda Isabella, Matt Dalton & Ricky Cunningham taking 1st, 2nd & 3rd for the day - Chuda being the Overall Season Winner. 

Even though she didn't show up to challenge the hard charging Marissa Shaw, Avalon Johnson's point accumulation allowed her to claim the overall Woman's Pro Am win. 

Remy Juboori was killing it during the Juniors final and surfing extremely well all day! Remy got second in the expression session & won the overall Juniors title. - A good day for Remy! 

Twin brothers, Peter and Jack Stewart showed some good 'ol fashioned sibling rivalry, competing against each other at each event this season - then putting it all on the line for the finals - Peter took the daily win & brother Jack scored the overall win - Scott, Seth & Ricky from Avasin Surfboards stepped up & both brothers wound up getting a brand new custom board. Sick! 

Jr. Women found themselves in sizable surf with Kitsy Nipper and Allie James charging waves that their parents were fairly uncomfortable watching, in their final heat. First & second accordingly - An absent Sidney Johnson won the overall Jr. Women's title. 

Ed Custodio showed everyone that 40 is the new 20 - winning the Masters Division - What an epic guy. 

And last but not least, Liquid Foundation showed their loyalty to the series (original surf shop sponsor) & won Top Surf Shop honors!! Fun guys to have at the events! Check out the newly remodeled & re-imagined surf shop in Mission Beach.

In light of the Revolt SUP Surf series wrapping up with stop #3 / Season winners are: 
Diane Wenzel - Woman's SUP Season Winner / Noah Hopper - Jr. Men's SUP Season Winner

The final event of the series ran on Saturday, October 4, alongside and during Pacific BeachFest. An estimated 70,000 people attended the massive festival with 3 stages of live music & entertainment, a fish taco food court, Dos Equis beer garden & hundreds of vendors. The RSSS is one of 3 signature sporting events that took place at the annual festival. The Healthy Souls Invitational Volleyball Tournament & a 5k run were also held on the sand. 


1st - JD Lewis
2nd - Icaro Rodriques
3rd - Doug Van Mierlo
4th - Vince Boulanger - Overall Season Winner

1st - Remi Juboori - Overall Season Winner
2nd - Gavin Doan
3rd - Lucas Manari

1st - Peter Stewert
2nd - Jack Stewert - Overall Season Winner
3rd - Sean Carlin

Woman's Pro/Am
1st - Marissa Shaw
2nd - Kensey Kessler
3rd - BreAnne Custodio
Avalon Johnson - Overall Season Winner

Jr. Woman's
1st - Kitsy Nipper
2nd - Allie James
Sidney Johnson - Overall Season Winner

1st - Chuda Isabella - Overall Season Winner
2nd - Matt Dalton
3rd - Ricky Cunningham

Masters 40+
1st - Ed Custodio
2nd - Charlie Rick
3rd - Chris Musterman

Expression Session
Icaro Rodrigues

Brian Terhorst

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter