Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



San Dieguito & Carlsbad take High School titles

San Dieguito's Grayson Amthor © Scholastic Surf Series



San Diego Division 1&2 High School Surfing

Scholastic Surf Series
Oceanside Pier, Oceanside, California
21 - 22 February 2015

Division 1 & 2 titles decided at 5th Scholastic Surf Series at Oceanside Pier

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 24 February, 2015 - Oceanside, California - The San Diego High School Division 1 & 2 Surf Teams completed their fifth and final event of the series at Oceanside Pier on Sunday. With the Division 1 Title on the line it was San Dieguito Academy that came fired up and smashed Carlsbad’s hope for a win.

It was a decisive win for SDA scoring 78 total team points and Carlsbad 56. SDA is now undefeated 5&0 dealing Carlsbad their first loss, 4&1, of the season. But in Division 2, Carlsbad took the Division Title and remained undefeated and finished the season with a 5&0 record.

And the excitement didn’t quit there as the individual races were just as competitive with some surprises and upsets in the Division Titles. Grayson Amthor from San Dieguito Academy clinched the Mens Shortboard Division for the season finishing 2nd of the season.

The Mens Longboard Division was a toss up going into the finals with Austin Sonnier, Torrey Pines, in the lead and Nick Anderberg, SDA, close behind. But it was younger brother Trevor Anderberg that took the win, brother Nick taking 2nd. So in the end it was Nick Anderberg taking the Mens Longboard Division title by a narrow 20 points over Austin Sonnier.

In Womens Shortboard it was Jordyn Barratt from San Dieguito taking her first win of the season while Alayna Tomlinson, Torrey Pines, held onto her season title. Maya Harrison, La Costa Canyon, dominated the Womens Longboard division taking the win and clinching the overall title for the season.

The points leader in Bodyboard has been Sean McElroy throughout the season. Sean was out for this event due to an injury but had such a commanding lead he still finished the season as the Overall Title Winner in Bodyboard.

It was a fantastic season and our congratulations to all the teams and individual surfers who competed this season. The final event of the season will be the High School State Championships on May 16, 17 & 18, 2015 at Church’s Beach.

Team Results

Division 1

San Dieguito “A” 78 def Carlsbad “A” 56
La Jolla 70 def Point Loma 61
Torrey Pines “A” 76 def La Costa Canyon 58

Division 2

San Dieguito “B” 50 def Oceanside 31
Carlsbad “B” 52 def Torrey Pines “B” 34
Canyon Crest Academy BYE Win

Individual Results

Mens Shortboard

1. Shane Freyberger, San Dieguito
2. Grayson Amthor, San Dieguito
3. Jonah Pierce, Point Loma
4. Tanner Ford, La Jolla
5. Mike Dennis, Carlsbad
6. Michael Dempsey, Torrey Pines

Mens Longboard

1. Trevor Anderberg, San Dieguito
2. Nick Anderberg, San Dieguito
3. Austin Sonnier, Torrey Pines
4. Jason King, Canyon Crest
5. Owen Whitfield, Torrey Pines
6. Matt Perrault, La Jolla

Womens Shortboard

1. Jordyn Barratt, San Dieguito
2. Elle Sampiere, Torrey Pines
3. Paetyn Parman, La Costa Canyon
4. Peyton Slater, Carlsbad
5. Alayna Tomlinson, Torrey Pines
6. Annie Abicca, San Dieguito

Womens Longboard

1. Maya Harrison, La Costa Canyon
2. Tyler Chandler, Carlsbad
3. Bella Gilchrist, La Costa Canyon
4. Karla Killeen, San Dieguito
5. Eva Jarrard, Carlsbad
6. Sierra Gasperoni, San Dieguito

Coed Bodyboard

1. Garret Lewis, Torrey Pines
2. David Schlacter, Torrey Pines
3. Gabe Retzer, Carlsbad
4. Mike Dennis, Carlsbad
5. Sean Purbaugh, Point Loma
6. Lito Romero, Canyon Crest

Carolyn Krammer

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter