Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Grom series crowns six new champs at Cronulla

Chris Zaffis, Under-18 Boys winner, Subway Summer Surf Series, Surfing Australia, Cronulla
Chris Zaffis © Ethan Smith/ SNSW


Subway Summer Surf Series

Surfing Australia
Cronulla, New South Wales
7 - 8 March 2015

Chris Zaffis takes the Under 18 Boys division

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 8 March, 2015 - Cronulla - Event eleven of the 640Subway Summer Surf Series crowned six new champions after the event wrapped up in clean two-foot peaks at North Cronulla Beach today. Alysse Cooper backed up her undefeated run through the Under-16 Girls claiming the overall victory in the division.

The Northern Beaches goofy-footer performed a series of powerful forehand turns to post a respectable 11.17 heat total (out of a possible 20 points). Kiara Meredith (Barrack Heights, NSW), Bella Wilton (Manly, NSW) and Zoe Ifield (Entrance North, NSW) all managed to perform a variety of big turns, but failed to muster up the scores requires to topple Cooper from the top spot and had to settle for second, third and fourth respectively.
Alysse also managed to clutch a final minute victory in the Under-18 Girls for a series of solid hits. Thanks to some pinpoint backhand turns, Billie Melinz (Coalcliff, NSW) held down the lead for the majority of the heat, but was forced to watch Cooper take the win in the dying seconds of the final.
Sandon Whittaker (Avoca, NSW) put on the best performance of the entire event in the final of the Under-16 Boys. The Central Coast goofyfooter threw down a combination of blistering forehand hits to post two excellent wave scores; a 9.17 and an 8.77 (out of a possible ten points each). Both scores were the two highest single wave scores of the entire event and all of Sandon’s fellow competitors were left chasing two-wave combinations to steal the win.
Thanks to an interference, multiple Subway® Summer Surf Series champion Jared Hickel (Cronulla, NSW) was forced to hand his Under-18 Boys victory to Chris Zaffis (Angourie, NSW) in the final minute of the final. Despite holding a solid lead, Hickel unfortunately dropped in on a fellow finalist and as a result, his second highest scoring wave was cut in half and Hickel was bumped back down into third position.

Zaffis managed to notch up a heat total of 12.66 to get the win over local surfer Nathan Martin who posted a 11.43 total. As winners of the Under-18 division, both Alysse Cooper and Chris Zaffis have won an invite to attend a three-day Subway® Surf Camp at the Hurley Surfing Australia High Performance Centre at Casuarina.
Mikeala Greene (Manly, NSW) and Ryan Slattery (Toukley, NSW) managed to claim themselves wildcards into the upcoming 2015 Australian Surf Festival in Coffs Harbour thanks to their performances in the Under-21 division. Despite Kai Awada (Chiba, Japan) winning in the Mens division for an exciting display of rail surfing, Awada is unable to claim a wildcard in the Australian national titles due to his Japanese citizenship.
The main base for event eleven of the Subway® Summer Surf Series was North Cronulla, with back-up locations of Elouera, Wanda, South Cronulla and Sandshoes.
Organised by Surfing Australia and proudly supported by Billabong, the 13-event series will be held around Australia this summer showcasing the country's best male and female surfers in the under 16 and 18 age divisions. Each event is expected to attract as many as 100 surfers vying for the top honour.
The new series was created to fill a competition void which exists at a crucial point in the development of Australia's leading junior surfers. It represents an important link in the ‘pathway to the podium' developed by Surfing Australia, with surfers now able to progress from the VEGEMITE SurfGroms program, onto the Wahu Surfer Groms Comps, into the Subway® Summer Surf Series, followed by the Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle.
The Subway® Summer Surf Series will help young Australians continue to develop their passion for surfing, whether it be professionally or recreationally and carry on to enjoy a lifetime of surfing.
Ambassadors for the Subway® Summer Surf Series are ASP World Tour competitor and 2012 World Champion Joel Parkinson and leading ASP World Tour female competitor Laura Enever.
The male and female winners from the U/18 divisions of each event in the series will be invited to attend a three-day Subway® Surf Camp at the Hurley Surfing Australia High Performance Centre at Casuarina. The camp, conducted by Australia's leading surf coaches, aims to provide participants with the assistance and training they need to make the transition from surfer to professional athlete.
The Subway Summer Surf Series is proudly supported by Billabong, Surfing Australia and Surfing NSW.
Under-21 Boys
1 – Kai Awada (Chiba, Japan)
2 – Ryan Slattery (Toukley, NSW)
3 – Jared Hickel (Cronulla, NSW)
4 – Sam Jones (Manly, NSW)
5 – Tim Barratt (Dee Why, NSW)

Under-21 Girls
1 – Mikeala Greene (Manly, NSW)
2 – Kira-Lee O’Connor (Kingscliff, NSW)
3 – Danielle Hancock (Nords Wharf, NSW)
4 –  Brooke Mason (Taroona, Tas)

Under-18 Boys
1 – Chris Zaffis (Angourie, NSW)
2 – Nathan Martin (Cronulla, NSW)
3 – Jared Hickel (Cronulla, NSW)
4 – Ben Hucker (Long Jetty, NSW)

Under-18 Girls
1 – Alysse Cooper (Queenscliff, NSW)
2 – Billie Melinz (Coalcliff, NSW)
3 – Kiara Meredith (Barrack Heights, NSW)
4 – Eliza Greene (Manly, NSW)

Under-16 Boys
1 – Sandon Whittaker (Avoca, NSW)
2 – Dylan Moffat (Narrabeen, NSW)
3 – Jay Brown (Lilli Pilli, NSW)
4 – Darcy Crump (Avalon, NSW)

Under-16 Girls
1 – Alysse Cooper (Queenscliff, NSW)
2 – Kiara Meredith (Barrack Heights, NSW)
3 – Bella Wilton (Manly, NSW)
4 – Zoe Ifield (Entrance North, NSW)

Ethan Smith

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter