Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Sooruz Lacanau Pro launches in small, clean surf

Vasco Ribeiro © WSL / Masurel




Sooruz Lacanau Pro 

World Surf League QS Men's Event
World Surf League QS Women's Event
Grande Plage, Lacanau, France
14 - 23 August 2015

Round 1 completed at Sooruz Lacanau Pro

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 18 August, 2015 - Lacanau - The Soöruz Lacanau Pro launched today in small conditions to complete the opening eight heats of competition in clean two-to-three foot surf.

Matthew McGillivray (ZAF) 18, capitalized on the small surf on offer and built on his previous experience on this very peak during the Pro Junior to collect a 15.13 heat total, the highest on Day 1.

“I’m really happy it’s nice to get the first heat out of the way,” McGillivray said. “I was confident and I luckily got the set wave which gave me the high score. It kind of died during the heat and there weren’t another wave like mine so I’m stoked I got a good score and got through.”

Reigning Junior World Champion Vasco Ribeiro (PRT) 20, dominated his round 1 bout in the tricky minimal surf. Ribeiro applied his signature powerturns and methodical wave dissection for a 13.67 combined heat total.

“We had a long break before the next QS10,000 in Azores, so I entered this event a couple of weeks ago and that’s why I surfed in round 1,” Ribeiro explained. “This is one of my favourite places, the people are really nice and we always have some fun waves. That heat was a bit tricky and it was my first surf out there, but I’m feeling good and have great boards so I’m looking forward to the next.”

The opening day of competition was mostly dominated by junior surfers who will be looking to confirm their form in the second round against more QS campaigner.

Competitors and organizers will reconvene on Wednesday at 9AM to resume the event depending on conditions on offer. The Soöruz Lacanau Pro is made possible with the support of the following event partners: Soöruz and NRJ amongst others.



Heat 1: Andy Criere (FRA), Enzo Cavallini (GLP), Edouard Delpero (FRA), Luis Diaz (CNY) 

Heat 2: Louis Gillick (AUS), Nelson Cloarec (FRA), Caina Souza Da Silva (BRA), Arthur Lassee (FRA) 

Heat 3: Jorgann Couzinet (REU), Lliam Mortensen (AUS), Anthony Fillingim (CRI), Pedro Coelho (PRT) 

Heat 4: Caina Barletta (BRA), Robbie Rickard (AUS), Remi Petersen (NLD), Pierre-Valentin Laborde (FRA) 

Heat 5: Eala Stewart (HAW), Angelo Bonomelli (ITA), Tomas Lopez Moreno (ARG), Miguel Blanco (PRT) 

Heat 6: Colt Ward (USA), Samuel Etchelecou (FRA), Nanook Ballerin (BLM), Arne Bergwinkl (DEU) 

Heat 7: Max Longhurst (AUS), Reubyn Ash (GBR), David Watkins (NZL),Guilherme Fonseca (PRT) 

Heat 8: Luke Dillon (GBR), Nate Dorman (USA),Natxo Gonzalez (EUK), Michael Zaugg (CHE) 

Heat 9: Jackson Baker (AUS), Eduardo Fernandes (PRT), O'Neill Massin (PYF), Vasco Ribeiro (PRT) 

Heat 10: Tereva David (PYF), Saxon Lumsden (AUS), Harry Timson (GBR), Joshua Braddock (GBR) 

Heat 11: Harrison Martin (AUS), Allen Schuyler (HAW), Brett Edwards (AUS), Matthew McGillivray (ZAF) 

Heat 12: Caiden Fowler (AUS), Julen Egiguren (EUK), Jacome Correia (PRT), Aldric God (FRA) 

Heat 13: Kalani Ball (AUS), Harrison Steele (AUS), Facundo Arreyes (ARG),Abdel El Harim (MAR) 

Heat 14: Gabriel Andre (BRA), Ariihoe Tefaafana (PYF), Norman Landa (EUK), Bino Lopes (BRA) 

Heat 15: Riley Laing (AUS), Dean Bowen (AUS), Joao Kopke (PRT), Tomas Ferreira (PRT) 

Heat 16: Alonso Correa (PER), Elliot Paerata-Reid (NZL), Luis Perloiro (PRT), Francisco Usuna (ARG) 



Heat 1: Luis Diaz (CNY) 12.50, Arthur Lassee (FRA) 8.67, Yassine Ramdani (MAR) 7.07, Sebastian Brugmans (BEL) 2.67

Heat 2: Pedro Coelho (PRT) 12.50, Pierre-Valentin Laborde (FRA) 9.67, Quentin Grenard (FRA) 8.60, Heremoana Luciani (PYF) 8.00

Heat 3: Miguel Blanco (PRT) 14.17, Arne Bergwinkl (DEU) 7.83, Mohamed Berrada (MAR) 6.33, Swen Zaugg (CHE) 6.20

Heat 4: Guilherme Fonseca (PRT) 11.47, Michael Zaugg (CHE) 9.87, Jobe Harriss (GBR) 9.87, Joao Guedes (PRT) 9.03

Heat 5: Vasco Ribeiro (PRT) 13.67, Joshua Braddock (GBR) 7.20, Roberto D'Amico (ITA) 7.04, Sebastian Olarte (URY) 6.87

Heat 6: Matthew McGillivray (ZAF) 15.13, Aldric God (FRA) 13.67, Aurelio Prieto (ECU) 9.74, Lucas Madrid (URY) 6.60

Heat 7: Abdel El Harim (MAR) 10.67, Bino Lopes (BRA) 10.10, Jatyr Berasaluce (EUK) 9.66, Gearoid McDaid (IRL) 5.30

Heat 8: Tomas Ferreira (PRT) 9.10, Francisco Usuna (ARG) 8.70, Leon Glatzer (DEU) 6.93, Santiago Madrid (URY) 6.83

Nicolas Leroy

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter