Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



South Coast Boardriders Club claim South Australia event

Gary Haworth © Surfing Australia



Australian Boardriders Battle 

Surfing Australia
The Bay, Middleton or Waits, Fleurieu Peninsula
10 October 2015

Club takes top honors at Australian Boardriders Battle Series III

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 11 October, 2015 - Coolangatta - Defending Champions South Coast Boardriders Club have gone back to back, winning The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle Series III South Australian state round in good conditions at Waitpinga Beach today. Clean 2-3ft waves provided competitors with all the canvas they needed to entertain the many club supporters and spectators who turned out to enjoy a classic 30 degree sunny beach day.

With high quality surfing on display, standout performances from Max Longhurst (South Coast Boardriders), Gary Haworth (Seaview Road Boardriders) and Amy Gore (Seaford Boardriders) were just a few highlights on a day of great competition. Longhurst took to the clean faces with power and style, throwing down a monster turn to win himself the Milwaukee‘Heavy Duty Hack’Award as an added bonus to his club’s win.

South Coast Boardriders Club join Tasmania’s South Arm Boardriders as the first two clubs through to The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle Series III National Final in Cronulla. The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle Series III is the country’s biggest grassroots boardriders event series with $110,000 in prize money.

It will involve more than 60 of Australia’s best boardriders clubs in eight State qualifying rounds starting in September and culminate in a two-day, National Final for 20 clubs on the Australia Day Long Weekend on 23-24 January, 2016 at Cronulla in Sydney.

The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle is proudly supported by naming rights partner Original Source and major support partners in Toyota, Nikon, Oakley, Sutherland Shire Council, the World Surf League, XXXX Summer Bright Lager, DrinkWise, Milwaukee, FCS, Surfing Life, Fox Sports, Destination NSW and Boost Mobile.

The series is officially sanctioned by the World Surf League, which allows Australian WSL World Championship Tour surfers (men and women) the opportunity to represent their local boardriders club at respective State qualifying events and the National Final.

In total $110,000 is up for grabs across the entire National Series including the National Final. There is $29,000 available across the eight State qualifying events, while $81,000 will be on offer at the National Final. The winning boardriders club will receive $20,000, while $36,000 will be split between the clubs finishing second to 20th.

Each club team will include one junior (Under 18) surfer, four Open age surfers, and one over 35 surfers. Each team must include one female surfer.

An exciting event format will see club teams battle it out in a Women’s division, five-person Teams’ division and a Skins competition.  The National Final will include a lucrative, winner-take-all Skins format across 12 heats with a $1000 jackpot in each heat. For the first time this year, the top four clubs following the Skins, Women’s and Teams events will contest a Grand Final involving a one-hour heat similar to the Teams relay format to decide the 2016 Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle champion.

The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle also includes a $61,000 Monster Raffle giveaway with one lucky ticket holder to drive away in a new Toyota RAV4 valued at $55,000. Other prize packs will be provided by Milwaukee, Original Source, Oakley, FCS, Nikon and Boost Mobile. The Monster Raffle is open to all Surfing Australia affiliated boardriders clubs with proceeds returning to the boardriders club community.


1st: South Coast Boardriders Club

2nd: Seaview Road Boardriders Club

3rd: Seaford Boardriders Club

For more information on the series, visit

The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle Schedule:
EVENT 1 - Scamander, TAS - September 19, 2015
EVENT 2 - Fleurieu Peninsula, SA - October 10, 2015
EVENT 3 - NSW Nth - Yamba, NSW - October 31, 2015
EVENT 4 - Gold Coast, QLD - November 7, 2015
EVENT 5 - NSW Central - North Narrabeen, NSW - November 14, 2015
EVENT 6 - Trigg, WA - November 21, 2015
EVENT 7 - Phillip Island, VIC - December 12, 2015
EVENT 8 - NSW Sth - Kiama, NSW - January 9, 2016
NATIONAL FINAL:  Cronulla, NSW - January 23 - 24, 2016

Blainey Woodham

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter