Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Classical Academy dominates Scholastic Surf Series

Mission Beach © Sheri Crummer



San Diego High School Division 5

Scholastic Surf Series
San Fernando Place, Mission Beach California
2 November 2014

Alex Heyman & Avalon Johnson win men's and women's events

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 3 November, 2014 - The Scholastic Surf Series a division of the Western Surfing Assoc. completed the first event for San Diego High School Division 5 surfers this past Sunday, November 2, 2014 at San Fernando Place in Mission Beach.  

In very competitive 4 to 6 foot surf each division displayed their talents and it definitely showed what they have been doing over the summer months – surfing.  Alex Heyman from La Jolla Country Day took the win in Mens Shortboard and Ryan Irving from Francis Parker took the win in Mens Longboard.  

But Classical Academy took the honors in three of the five finals – Avalon Johnson 1st Womens Shortboard, Sidney Johnson, 1st Womens Longboard and Jacob Champlin 1st Coed Bodyboard. Congratulations to all of our teams.

Thank you to all of our sponsors for their support: Body Glove Wetsuits, Ecowater, Hoven, Oceanside Longboard Surfing Club, Sima Corp., Sticky Bumps, SuperBrand, Surface Sun Systems, Standard Graphics, Wave House and the WSA.

Team Results Division 5
St. Augustine/OLP  49    def    High Tech  39
La Jolla Country Day  53    def    Serra  33
Granite Hills  52        def    Waldorf San Diego  33
Eastlake  44            def      Steele Canyon  42
Rancho Bernardo  50.5    def    Sage Creek  33.5
Francis Parker  43        def    Mission Hills  36
Classical Academy  53    def    Fallbrook  27
Army Navy Academy        Bye    Win

Individual Results

Mens Shortboard
1.  Alex Heyman, La Jolla Country Day
2.  Noah Jackson, High Tech
3.  Matt Mindel, La Jolla Country Day
4.  Nathan Niehaus, Eastlake
5.  Cole Hurst, High Tech
6.  Tristan Romero, Granite Hills

Mens Longboard
1.  Ryan Irving, Francis Parker
2.  Riley Brandelius, Granite Hills
3.  Trent Smith, Waldorf SD
4.  J T Dunn, Serra
5.  Alex Wells, Granite Hills
6.  Nick Richardson, Rancho Bernardo

Womens Shortboard
1.  Avalon Johnson, Classical Academy
2.  Sidney Johnson, Classical Academy
3.  Mikayla Williamson, Granite Hills
4.  Avery Johnson, Sage Creek
5.  Coral McDuffee, Army Navy Academy
6.  Kristen Rosier, Steele Canyon

Womens Longboard
1.  Sidney Johnson, Classical Academy
2.  Mikayla Williamson, Granite Hills
3.  Katherine Fandy, Sage Creek
4.  Jennifer Irving, Francis Parker
5.  Ella Frazee, Waldorf SD
6.  Olivia Dykeman, Rancho Bernardo

1.  Jacob Champlin, Classical Academy
2.  Ian Phelps, Sage Creek
3.  Tyler Dimock, Granite Hills
4.  J T Dunn, Serra
5.  Michael Savides, La Jolla Country Day
6.  Sarah Leach, Eastlake

Carolyn Krammer

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter