Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Temple ceremony launches Padang-Padang event

Rip Curl Cup, Padang Padang, Mick Curley, Bali, Indonesia, Tuberiding Event,
The ceremony begins © Mick Curley/Rip Curl




Rip Curl Cup 

Rip Curl Cup Padang-Padang 
Padang Padang, Bali Indonesia
5 July - 17 August 2014

Opening Ceremony Kicks Off Waiting Period 

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 8 July, 2014 - Padng Padang, Bali - Last Saturday July 5th at Padang-Padang Beach, the traditional opening ceremony for the Rip Curl Cup 2014 kicked off the waiting period that will run until August 17th.  One of the many highlights of the program was the announcement of list of lucky 24 competitors who will be surfing Bali’s most iconic barrel almost all to themselves, and the posting of the heat draw. 

The event on Saturday started with a private Balinese prayer ceremony, where the Rip Curl crew prayed and asked the gods and mother earth to bless the event and provide the epic waves that the Rip Curl Cup is known for during the coming 6-week waiting period. 

Hundreds of spectators packed the beach to watch the announcement of the competitors and to see who was matched up with whom, cheering for the favorite surfers.  This means that all 24 invited surfers are now on-call to be at Padang- Padang within 24 hours notice, and get ready to surf once the official Surfline swell forecast team and event director Pete Mathews give the green light to run the contest. 

There were Rip Curl product, and sponsors giveaways during the afternoon, as well as the presentation of the artist who made artwork for this year’s event, and as always the amazing traditional Balinese Kecak dance performance wowed both the audience and the surfers to close the event. “It's a cool showcase of the local culture and gets everyone fired up for the biggest contest of the year at one of the best waves in Bali,” said Francisco Alves, one of Rip Curl’s international team riders from Portugal. 

Stoked surf fans will be frothing to get on-line and view all the action when the green light calls the competitors into action, as the 2014 Rip Curl Cup will be broadcast globally at, and it can be viewed on smartphones with the Rip Curl Live Events App.   

It wouldn't be Bali without some firejumping © Mick Curley/Rip Curl


In a departure from the previous year’s format, this year’s Rip Curl Cup will see 24 rather than 32 competitors: 12 international icons and 12 of Indonesia’s finest barrel masters.  “With the world watching via our live webcast, we see the 4-man heat format detracting from the purity of surfing a virtually empty Padang-Padang lineup.  Having just two surfers in the water allows both the surfers and the audience to really focus and enjoy this exciting event,” cites Rip Curl’s SE Asia Marketing Manager James Hendy as the reason for this year’s change in format.   

This year the heat draw will see two Indonesian wild cards in the draw as well, Rahtu Suargita from Kuta who won the Trials event, and Koki Hendrawan as the highest finished Padang-Padang local who was also in the Trials final. 

The 24 competitors will be competing not only for their share of the $10,000 prize purse but also for “The Cup”.  The local Balinese artists at MOD Jewelry, who have also made Association of Surfing Professionals championship rings and awards in the past, designed this coveted trophy. Hand carved from teak wood and inlayed with silver, the bowl is carved into the shape of a flower and is mounted above a piece of wood made to look like a craggy chunk of the Padang-Padang reef. Each year the cup is filled with Bintang beer and the winner must skull it all down on the victory podium.  



Official 2014 opening-round heat draw: 

Heat 1 
Jamie O’Brien (Hawaii) 
Alik Rudiarta (Indonesia) 
Koki Hendrawan (Indonesia) 

Heat 2 
Lee Wilson (Indonesia) 
Kekoa Bacalso (Hawaii) 
Bethany Hamilton (Hawaii) 

Heat 3 
Anthony Walls  (AUS)
Raditya Rondi (Indonesia) 
Pepen Hendrik (Indonesia) 

Heat 4 
Mega Semadhi (Indonesia) 
Ricardo De Santos (Brazil) 
Francisco Alves (Portugal) 

Heat 5 
Made Adi Putra (Indonesia) 
Flynn Novak (Hawaii) 
Jacob Wilcox (Australia) 

Heat 6 
Luke Hynd (AUS)
Dede Suryana (Indonesia) 
Wayan Merta (Indonesia) 

Heat 7 
Rizal Tandjung (Indonesia) 
Bruno Santos (Brazil) 
Jack Robinson (AUS)

Heat 8 
Chris Ward (USA) 
Made Widiarta (Indonesia) 
Rahtu Suargita (Indonesia) 

Tim Hain

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter