Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Torrential rain, onshore wind forces Tahiti lay day

Sebastian Zietz posted a near-perfect 9.97 yesterday during Round 2 © ASP/Kirstin Scholtz




Billabong Pro Tahiti

ASP Men's World Tour Championship Event
Teahupo'o Tahiti
15 - 26 August 2014

Check the Live Action

Billabong Pro Tahiti calls lay day, Solid Swell on the Horizon

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 20 August, 2014 - Teahupo'o - The Billabong Pro Tahiti, stop no. 7 on the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour has been put on STANDBY due to torrential rain and onshore winds. A lay day has been called and event organizers will reconvene at 7:00 a.m. on Thursday, August 21 to assess conditions.

"It's very windy and there's lots of rain," said ASP Commissioner Kieren Perrow. "It's pretty terrible out there so we're not going to run any heats today and we'll go on standby. We're expecting the swell to build in through the day and we're looking at a great couple of days of competition if the conditions improve as expected."

Surfline, official surf forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti have called for: We’ll see a rebuilding trend of surf through Wednesday as new SW swell fills in all day and peaks late. Some morning sickness/warble is possible Wednesday, with conditions improving through the afternoon as the swell builds, tide drops and SE/ESE trades also build. Thursday will see decreasing, but still strong, surf with favorable ESE trades. Friday will see a further decrease in surf. The next swell of real significance is lining up for Sunday afternoon and Monday, although local wind may be unfavorable. 

Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 2 Upcoming Match-Ups 
Heat 12: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)

Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 3 Match-Ups (1st to Round 4, 2nd finishes Equal 13th):
Heat 1: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 2: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Heat 3: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Aritz Aranburu (ESP)
Heat 4: Kolohe Andino (USA) vs. Mitch Crews (AUS)
Heat 5: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. C.J. Hobgood (USA)
Heat 6: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Nathan Hedge (AUS)
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 8: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Sebastian Zietz (HAW)
Heat 9: Nat Young (USA) vs. Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 10: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 11: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. TBD
Heat 12: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Dion Atkinson (AUS)

Dave Prodan

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter