Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Two Jamaican Junior surfers claim ISA scholarships

Armani Green : photo courtesy Billy Wilmot

Team News

Jamaican surfers Green, Hastings win ISA scholarships

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 27 January, 2010 : - - Armani Green and Ronald Hastings, two of Jamaica’s junior surfers,are recipients of International Surfing Association Scholarships. The ISA announced the recipients of the 2010 ISA Individual Scholarship Program during the Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in New Zealand. 

The ISA Scholarship Program has consistently grown since it first started in 2007 due to the generous funding from Billabong, The Quiksilver Foundation and Reef Redemption, and the continued support from ISA member nations. For 2010 the ISA has issued 25 scholarships to Under 18 junior surfers from 20 different countries. The ISA received 77 applications from 29 countries for this year’s program. 

ISA President, Fernando Aguerre said about this year's Scholarship Program: “I believe the ISA Scholarship Program is a huge step forward for the ISA to contribute to bettering the lives of junior surfers around the world.  Together, we are supporting the dreams and hopes of good students who are also good surfers.”

After careful review by the Scholarship Selection Committee, the ISA announced the following surfers as ISA Surfing Ambassadors. The recipients are inspirational human beings, great surfers and avid students who want to succeed in surfing and school.

The 2010 ISA Scholarship Recipients are:

Ana Martina Gainza – Argentina
Armani Green – Jamaica
Belko Contreras – Chile
Benjamin de Castro – Angola
Carlos Cervantes – Mexico
Cesar Reyes – Ecuador
Colby Stanley – Spain
Donghoon Kim – South Korea
Hussain Rasheed – Maldives
Ian Ross Schweden – Trinidad and Tobago
Jarred Veldhuis – South Africa
Jean Carlos Gonzales – Panama
Jean Carlos Mendez - Costa Rica
Juninho Urcia – Peru
Mahorahora McLeod – New Zealand
Mamadou Mbengue - Senegal
Marissa Shaw – United States
Miluska Tello – Peru
Naomi Kabayashi – Japan
Nicolas Bulla – Venezuela
Papi Makanyane – South Africa
Roger Vuuanza - Angola
Ronald Hastings – Jamaica
Tassy Swallow – Great Britain
Tobias Ortells – Argentina

For more Scholarship information

What's your take on this?
Post your thoughts: SV Forum

New Survey: Map Surfing’s future 

More USA/Cen. Amer. surfing news available here
Check the latest East Coast Surf Reports and Forecasts

New! B2B News ASBE-Surf   |  Receive News-Alerts

Billy Wilmot

Team - Surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter