Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



World title race gets interesting at the Roxy Pro

Sally Fitzgibbons © ASP/Cestari
Sally Fitzgibbons © ASP/Cestari





Roxy Pro France

Les Estagnots, Southwest France
23 - 29, 2014 

Moore looks to make a rebound from slipping down the ranks 

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 22 September, 2014 - The world’s best female surfers have converged on the Southwest Coast of France to contest Stop No. 8 of 10 on the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP Women’s World Championship Tour, the Roxy Pro France, from September 23 - 29, 2014. The Roxy Pro France, held in the idyllic beachbreaks of Hossegor and Seignosse, will recommence this season’s race for the ASP World Title with Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) and Carissa Moore (HAW) leading the 18-woman field.
Fitzgibbons has been in sterling form this season, posting back-to-back wins in Rio de Janeiro and Fiji as well as a Runner-Up finish at Trestles last week, as she contends for a long-elusive maiden world crown.
“The say the ASP World Title race is a ‘marathon’ and not a ‘sprint’ and that’s definitely proving the case this season,” Fitzgibbons said. “I’m in a good position, but I’d love to put a few more wins on the board before the year is finished. I had a good run here in France last year and I’m looking to repeat this season.”
Gilmore, a five-time ASP Women’s World Champion, kicked off the 2014 season with a big win at home on the Gold Coast and put on a blistering performance last week at Trestles to put her back in the hunt for a sixth title.
“I’m feeling good after the win at Trestles,” Gilmore said. “I think I finally got to surf the way I wanted on quality waves and I think it’s given me a good momentum heading into the last few events of the season. I love France and it looks like we have good surf on the horizon.”
Moore, the reigning two-time ASP Women’s World Champion, opened up the season with a number of impressive finishes including back-to-back wins at Margaret River and the Gold Coast, but has struggled in recent events. The phenomenal Hawaiian will look to realign her 2014 campaign here in France.
“France is my opportunity to rebound,” Moore said. “I really wanted to do well at Trestles, but it didn’t happen for me and I’ve moved on from it. The girls are all surfing really well so I’m looking forward to this event and hopefully we get more good surf.”
Surfline, official forecasters for the Roxy Pro France are calling for:
Fading swell Tuesday. New swell due to fill in through the day Wednesday and continue through the end of the week. Possible reinforcing swell for the weekend 9/27-28.      
Event organizers will convene tomorrow morning at 7:30am (local time) to assess conditions and make a call for the day.
When competition commences, up first will be Malia Manuel (HAW), Dimity Stoyle (AUS) and Pauline Ado (FRA) in the opening heat of Round 1.
Roxy Pro France Round 1 Match-Ups (1st advances to Round 3, 2nd & 3rd to Round 2):

Heat 1: Malia Manuel (HAW), Dimity Stoyle (AUS), Pauline Ado (FRA)
Heat 2: Tyler Wright (AUS), Laura Enever (AUS), Alessa Quizon (HAW)
Heat 3: Sally Fitzgibbons (HAW), Courtney Conlogue (USA), Lee-Ann Curren (FRA)
Heat 4: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Johanne Defay (FRA), Alana Blanchard (HAW)
Heat 5: Carissa Moore (HAW), Coco Ho (HAW), Paige Hareb (NZL)
Heat 6: Lakey Peterson (USA), Bianca Buitendag (ZAF), Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)
Running in conjunction with the Roxy Pro France will be Stop No. 9 of 11 on the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour, the Quiksilver Pro France:
Quiksilver Pro France Round 1 Match-Ups (1st advances to Round 3, 2nd & 3rd to Round 2) :

Heat 1: Taj Burrow (AUS), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 2: Michel Bourez (PYF), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 3: Mick Fanning (AUS), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Jeremy Flores (FRA)
Heat 4: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Matt Banting (AUS)
Heat 6: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Tiago Pires (PRT), Dane Reynolds (USA)
Heat 7: Adriano de Souza (BRA), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Aritz Aranburu (ESP)
Heat 8: John John Florence (HAW), Julian Wilson (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 9: Kolohe Andino (USA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Dion Atkinson (AUS)
Heat 10: Nat Young (USA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 11: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Mitch Crews (AUS)
Heat 12: Owen Wright (AUS), Josh Kerr (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS)

Dave Prodan

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter